Skip to main content

Renew a license

Renewal notices sent by email

Most license types renew online at NIPR.com.

  • A license issued to an individual insurance agent expires biennially in the month of the individual's birthday anniversary.
  • You will not be able to renew until your continuing education is in your transcript. By law, CE providers have 15 days to enter your credits. Updates to your transcript take at least 24 hours to register with NIPR. Maximum credit for one day is eight hours. Renewals must be done electronically and can be done through NIPR.com.
  • All agency licenses expire two years from the month the license was first issued on the last day of the month.
  • Consultants must provide proof of E&O insurance. The division requires the name of the provider and the expiration date. The proof must state that consulting activities are covered, and the policy must be for at least $500,000 per occurrence.
  • Renewal notices are emailed to the individual or business email address on file.
  • All renewal notices are emailed approximately 90 days before the license expiration date.
  • If you have not received your renewal notice 30 days before your expiration date, call or email us to verify that your information is on file. Your renewal notice is not required to renew the license.
  • Beginning January 1, 2019, we will not renew a non-resident adjuster license for an individual from a non-reciprocal state (California, Hawaii, and New York) until we confirm that the applicant has passed the Oregon exam.

Third-party administrators and adjusters without a home state

Individuals and businesses both renew by contacting DFR licensing at:

Phone: 503-947-7981
Email: web.insagent@oregon.gov

Special note for nonresident adjusters

Beginning January 1, 2019, Oregon will not renew a nonresident adjuster license for an individual from a non-reciprocal state until the individual's passage of the Oregon adjuster exam. Proof of passage of the Oregon adjuster exam must be confirmed by the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation.

If an adjuster from a state where we require an exam, i.e. CA, NY, HI etc. was licensed BEFORE 2006 they need to notify us that they have taken the Oregon Adjuster exam. If they were licensed AFTER Jan 1,2006, they must produce proof or take the exam.

You may go to psiexams.com to schedule your Oregon Adjuster exam. This exam may be taken in any state, but make sure that you request the Oregon Adjuster exam

Key links

Renewal notices

Contact us

Phone: 503-947-7981
Email: web.insagent@oregon.gov
Fax: 503-378-4351

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×