Skip to main content

Mortgages

The Division of Financial Regulation is encouraging its regulated lenders and financial service providers to take active measures to provide help to people and businesses affected by the pandemic. This includes offering loan forbearance plans, fee waivers, and other deferred payment options to their customers. Review the frequently asked questions below and the division’s step-by-step emergency guide to handle mortgage issues caused by COVID-19.

Use the site navigation (above on mobile devices, left side on laptops and desktops) to review specific insurance and financial topics.

Information on the COVID-19 webpages changes frequently and is updated regularly. Check back often for the most up-to-date information.

This information is intended only for information purposes, and does not replace the legal advice obtained from an attorney or professional advice obtained from an approved Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) nonprofit housing counselor.

If you have questions about your mortgage, contact your mortgage servicer.

If you have questions or need to file a complaint on a financial services company or professional, contact the division’s advocacy team at 888-877-4894 (toll-free) or email dfr.financialserviceshelp@oregon.gov.

​Yes. Oregon’s foreclosure moratorium put in place by Gov. Brown ended Dec. 31, 2020, when the third special session of the legislature did not pass an extension of the moratorium. Additionally, Executive Order 20-67, which extended the underlying COVID-19 state of emergency, did not modify the Dec. 31, 2020, end date of the Executive Order 20-37 foreclosure moratorium.


​ Although the state moratorium ended, you may still be eligible for mortgage relief.

The foreclosure moratorium for federally backed mortgages is in effect through June 30, 2021.

Mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac cannot foreclose until March 31​, 2021.

For all other types of mortgages, lenders may begin foreclosure processes under Oregon law.

If an in-process foreclosure was put on hold because of the moratorium, it can proceed from that point. Lenders are required to send an amended notice of default to the homeowner that provides updated foreclosure dates.


​​The Coronavirus Aid Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act protects homeowners with federally backed mortgages facing financial difficulties resulting directly or indirectly from COVID-19. These protections include:

  • The right to obtain a temporary reduction or a postponement (forbearance) of loan payments for up to 180 days
  • The right to extend the forbearance plan for another 180 days, following the homeowners’ request
  • Not reporting to credit reporting agencies as delinquent any temporary suspension or reduction of loan payments during the emergency declaration
  • No late fees, additional charges, or changes in the terms of the loan are permitted while loans are in a forbearance plan
  • For federally backed loans, lenders or loan servicers may not foreclose until June 30, 2021
  • For loans backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac, lenders cannot foreclose until March 31​, 2021

Homeowners do not have to provide documentation to benefit from a forbearance plan, but they must attest that their financial difficulties are a direct or indirect result of COVID-19. Follow your servicer’s instructions about requesting a forbearance.


Contact your mortgage lender or loan servicer to discuss your options. The Division of Financial Regulation and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau are encouraging lenders and financial service providers to actively help people and businesses affected by the pandemic. This includes offering loan forbearance, fee waivers, and other deferred payment options to its customers.

If you are able to secure a forbearance or another mortgage relief option, ask your lender or servicer to provide documentation confirming the details of the agreement.

Another option is the Oregon Homeownership Stabilization Initiative. It provides financial relief to Oregonians who need help catching up on mortgage payments. Visit Oregon homeowner help help to see if you qualify.


​​​For federally backed mortgages, your lender or loan servicer may not foreclose on your home until June 30, 2021. Mortgages backed by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac cannot foreclose until March 31, 2021. For all other types of mortgages, lenders may begin or resume foreclosure processes under Oregon law.

If you experience financial hardship due to the coronavirus pandemic, you have a right to request and obtain a forbearance for up to 180 days.

Refer to the official announcements for more information:

If you do not have a federally backed mortgage, contact a U.S. Housing and Urban Development-approved counseling agency for help. More information and resources about foreclosures can be found on the division’s foreclosure webpage.


A forbearance is when your mortgage servicer allows you to pause or reduce mortgage payments for a limited period of time. A forbearance does not erase the payments you owe, and the payments will need to repaid in the future.

If your loan is federally backed, you do not have to make a lump-sum payment at the end of the forbearance plan. Your servicer may have other repayment plans available to you. See the step-by-step guide to review some of those options.


Depending on the type of mortgage, you may be eligible for relief offered by your lender or loan servicer.

The Oregon Homeownership Stabilization Initiative provides financial relief to Oregonians who need help catching up on mortgage payments. Visit Oregon homeowner help to see if you qualify.

HUD certified housing counseling centers can offer free information and guidance.

The Oregon Legislature created the Oregon Foreclosure Avoidance Program to help struggling homeowners avoid foreclosure. Before starting a judicial or nonjudicial foreclosure, most lenders must request a resolution conference with a homeowner.


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×