Special Oregon Schedule P
Due annually on March 1
- For insurers authorized to write Workers’ Compensation,
731.628 Deposit required of workers’ compensation insurance.
- Late filings are subject to civil penalties of $500 per day minimum,
and up to $10,000 maximum, (ORS 731.988 Civil penalties ).
- Scroll to the bottom of the “Filing List” screen and select " Add
filing." The current year’s form will appear. This form
should be filled out just like last year's. The form will calculate the
shaded fields. You have to enter numbers only in the white fields. If you
don't enter a number, the system will enter a zero.
- If you are notified by a DCBS Tax Analyst that the company must place additional
securities or that an audit adjustment was made,
go into your iReg account and you can view your audited return.
- We calculate the market value of your securities that
are dedicated to workers’ compensation on the date of audit (do not include
securities designated as “Surety” or other). This may differ from your calculation
made on a different date. Any of these differences could cause a company
to have to place additional securities.
Schedule P-RA and Schedule P-RC
If you have assumed premiums from other workers' compensation insurers or have ceded to other workers' compensation insurers, fill out these schedules. When you enter the NAIC number, the name of the company will appear. When you have completed these schedules, the totals will be entered on lines 15 and/or 16 on the Special Oregon Schedule P. To change a number on line 15 or line 16, return to the Schedule P-RA or Schedule P-RC. You cannot change it on the Special Oregon Schedule P.
For all insurance ceded on Schedule P-RC, the assuming company must also list the same amounts as assumed on their Schedule P-RA. If there are any errors or differences in ceding or assuming, the differences will be shown on the audited version.
Line 1: Direct premiums earned must include both workers' compensation (Line 16 on the Oregon state page from the NAIC annual statement) and excess workers' compensation (Line 17.3 on the Oregon state page from the NAIC annual statement).
Lines 5-9: For compensation loss payments, use both workers' compensation and excess workers' compensation.
Each insurer must list the officer who is responsible for filing the Special Oregon Schedule P. By listing the officer and checking the box at the bottom of the form, the company is certifying that the filing is complete and accurate.
Line 15: You must complete the Schedule P-RA if you have amounts to enter on this line. See the section above. Do not enter any number on Line 15 of the Special Oregon Schedule P. This will be done by the computer once you have completed the Schedule P-RA. This supplemental schedule lists the names of companies ceding business to the insurer and the reserves on such assumed business. Include the NAIC number for each company from whom you are assuming business.
Line 16: You must complete the Schedule P-RC if you have amounts to enter on Line 16. Do not enter any number on Line 16 of the Special Oregon Schedule P. This will be done by the computer once you have completed the Schedule P-RC. This supplemental schedule lists the names of reinsurers and the amounts claimed as reinsurance recoverable on approved reinsurance ceded. (See ORS 731.508 for the definition of approved reinsurance.) If any amount that your company claims on Special Schedule P-RC is not deposited by the assuming carrier, your credit will be disallowed and your company will be expected to make deposits equal to the amount of the denied credit. You must include the NAIC number for each company listed on Schedule P-RC.
Line 25: Par value and market value amounts should be only for securities presently held by the Oregon Insurance Division in a custodial account for the class of workers' compensation. Do not include on Line 25 any amounts that are currently on deposit for surety.
Line 26: Any additional amount shown on Line 26 must be deposited on or before March 31. All securities placed on deposit must be rated as Class 1 by the NAIC and must meet the requirements of ORS 731.640. All securities to be placed must be approved by the Insurance Division before placing. If the deposit exceeds the amount required on Line 26, the year-end total will be honored for a release of securities without replacement up to June 1. Updated schedules, including companies listed on Schedule P-RC, will be required after that date.