Health premium assessment changes for 2020
In 2017, the Oregon Legislature enacted HB 2391, which established a 1.5 percent assessment on the gross amount of premiums derived from health benefit plans delivered or issued for delivery in Oregon. During the 2019 legislative session, the Oregon Legislature enacted HB 2010, which makes two key changes to the assessments established under HB 2391. First, HB 2010 increases the assessment on premiums derived from health benefit plans from 1.5 percent to 2 percent. Second, HB 2010 expands the assessment to apply to premiums derived from stop loss insurance. Both of these changes are effective for the period beginning on January 1, 2020.
Please ensure the legal counsel and compliance officers of your company appropriately review the details of HB 2010 to determine the appropriate policies and lines of business that are subject to the assessment.
For more information on the applicability of these assessments, please see the division’s bulletin.
Stop loss insurers, please use this form to document and submit your assessment.