Skip to main content

Adjusters

Oregon resident individual adjusters

All applicants for an Oregon resident adjuster license must take the Oregon adjuster exam. No prelicense training is required.

The business entity (agency) also must file an Affiliation of adjuster form within 30 days

If you are the spouse of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is duty-stationed in Oregon and you hold a current insurance license in another state, Oregon may issue you a temporary license for Oregon. Please contact the Division at (503) 378-4140 for more details.

If you do not have a social security number, you may use your Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) instead.

To apply as a resident adjuster

  • Schedule and pass t​he required exams. PSI administers the exams.
  • Provide fingerprints and authorize a criminal records check by either:
  • ​ After you have passed examinations for all license classes of interest, apply online at NIPR.com .
    • You must supply business and residence phone numbers on the application. If these are the same number, put that number in both fields to continue.

To apply as a nonresident adjuster

  • Contact the Division of Financial Regulation to see if an examination is necessary. Oregon does recognize a designated home state.
  • Submit the license application through  NIPR.com .
  • If no exam is necessary, submit an original letter of certification from the home state, dated within the past 90 days, unless the license information is available on the National Association of Insurance Commissioner's Producer Database .

You may go to psiexams.com  to schedule your Oregon Adjuster exam. This exam may be taken in any state, but make sure that you request the Oregon Adjuster exam.

Renewal of an Adjuster license

Continuing Education – Beginning January 1, 2020, both resident and non-resident individuals licensed as adjusters must complete 24 hours of continuing education prior to renewal, including 3 hours of ethics.

 

For an resident license, the education must also include three hours of Oregon law. In addition, the statute gives credit for courses taken for another insurance license, such as a producer license. So someone who holds both an Oregon adjuster license and Oregon resident producer license will only have to complete 24 hours of CE to renew both licenses, not 48 hours.

 

For a non-resident license, the statute gives credit for courses taken in subjects the licensee’s home state requires. The licensee will still have to take 24 hours of continuing education, even if the home state requires fewer hours.

 

The new CE requirement applies to any individual who has had the full 24 months to complete the continuing education. As such, the first licenses that this will apply to those are those issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2020. Our staff will be enforcing the education requirement for all licenses that expire on January 31, 2021 or later.

 

Examination for non-resident licenses from non-reciprocal states - Beginning January 1, 2020, Oregon will not renew a nonresident adjuster license for an individual from a non-reciprocal state until the individual's passage of the Oregon adjuster exam. Proof of passage of the Oregon adjuster exam must be confirmed by the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation.

If an adjuster from a state where we require an exam, i.e. CA, NY, HI etc. was licensed BEFORE 2006 they need to notify us that they have taken the Oregon Adjuster exam. If they were licensed AFTER Jan 1,2006, they must produce proof or take the exam.

You may go to psiexams.com to schedule your Oregon Adjuster exam. This exam may be taken in any state, but make sure that you request the Oregon Adjuster exam.

 

Late Renewal - Beginning with licenses issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2020, licensees will have a one-year grace period to late renew a license. For example, a business entity obtains an adjuster license in January 2020 that expires on January 31, 2022. If the business entity does not renew the license, it will expire on January 31, 2022. The business entity will then have until January 31, 2023 to late renew the license. If the business entity wants an adjuster license after January 31, 2023, it will have to apply for a new license.

Oregon resident business adjusters

To apply as a business resident adjuster

  • Submit a Business Entity application through NIPR.com . Assumed business names must be registered with the Secretary of State Corporation Division.

To apply as a business nonresident adjuster

  • Submit a Business Entity application through NIPR.com .
  • File an  Affiliation of adjuster form that identifies both an affiliate and a designed responsible licensed person.
  • Submit an original letter of certification, dated within the past 90 days, from the home state, unless the license information is available on the NAIC's Producer Database .

 

Contact us

Phone: 503-947-7981
web.insagent@oregon.gov
Fax: 503-378-4351​​​​​​

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×