The division licenses pawnbrokers operating in Oregon. A license is required by any entity that performs any of the following:
- Lends money at a rate of interest greater than 10 percent per year on the deposit or pledge of personal property
- Purchases personal property on the direct or implied condition of selling the personal property back at a stipulated price that would amount to paying interest or consideration in excess of 10 percent per year.
- Does business as a storage warehouse operator and lends money at a rate of interest greater than 10 percent per year for merchandise or personal property pledged or deposited as collateral security.
How to apply
- Submit a completed pawnbroker application in
PDF that includes the following:
- A $25,000 pawnbroker surety bond, or a $25,000 pawnbroker irrevocable letter of credit
- A current financial statement showing your total assets, liabilities, and net worth
- A resume citing experience and business qualifications for each manager, partner, officer, or other persons performing similar functions
- A feasibility study that justifies your business location
- A description of the security used to safeguard pledged items
- Proof of insurance with a declaration page from your insurance provider showing the type and amount of coverage for “Personal Property of Others” or “Pledged Items”
- A sample pawn ticket
- Information about off-site storage, if it will be used by the applicant
- A $500 nonrefundable application fee
- Provide proof of current business registration with the
Oregon Secretary of State
Applicants must also submit a completed Criminal Background and Credit Check Authorization form in
PDF for each manager, partner, officer, or other people performing similar functions.
A $350 license fee will be due if application is approved.
How to renew
Pawnbroker License Renewal on E-Gov
This process takes place on E-gov:https://ordcbs.mylicense.com/eGov/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2FeGov%2F
Please have the necessary documents ready before applying for renewal.
Time to complete varies by company. The system times out 45 minutes after logging in.
You will need:
- Valid Email Address for Receipt of Payment
- Renewal Notice Letter
- Copy of Current Pawn Ticket
- Declaration Pages of Insurance Policy showing current fire, theft and burglary coverage of pledged property or personal property of others.
Pawnbroker Annual Report Figures – the form can be found at:
If Applicable - Copy of documentation with location details and description of security used for any offsite storage additions or changes
If Applicable - Copy of documentation supporting any filed insurance claims that involve store inventory or pledged items since the last report including dates, items lost, value of loss and consumer impact
If Applicable – Filled out
criminal background and credit authorization forms for any new owners, managers, or personnel. The form can be found at:
Renewal step-by-step guide
Interest and fees
Pawnbrokers are limited to:
- Offering loans for a minimum of 60 days.
- Charging interest at a rate not to exceed 3 percent per month (you may charge one month’s interest or $3 on pledge loans redeemed within the first month if interest accumulated amounts to less).
- Charging a set-up fee of 10 percent of the loan amount, with a minimum of $2 and a maximum of $250 for each item.
- Charging a storage fee of 5 percent of the loan amount, with a minimum of $2 and a maximum of $250 for each item.
Licensed pawnbrokers who accept large items as pledges may wish to review OAR 441-740-0029 that explains when off-site storage may be used and the requirements to use it. If you are currently licensed and wish to add a off-site storage location, please file an amendment application providing information about your off-site location. Please be sure to submit with your amended application:
- A copy of the company’s policies and procedures regarding off-site storage, which must include how the company will determine what items are appropriate for off-site storage.
- A description of the security used to safeguard pledged items at the off-site storage location.
- Type and amount of insurance coverage carried to cover pledged items at the off-site premises, if separate from the insurance for the business location.
You may offer loans on firearms; follow the same set-up and storage fees for other pawned items. You can charge a $3 firearm fee on the original loan, and if the loan is renewed you can charge a $1 fee. A $10 background check fee is required before a firearm can be released.
There are no restrictions on renewing the loan and you can charge the same interest and fees to extend another 60 days.
Renewals and Annual Reports
Oregon has combined the annual report and renewal process. Instead of these being separate, now All all pawnbrokers must renew their licenses and file their annual report by Jan. 15th of each year. To do so, the licensee must submit a completed a combined
Annual Report including Pawnbroker Annual Renewal and Required Additional Information with the $350 renewal fee. If any information about the licensee has changed, the licensee must also submit a Renewal Application Change of Information Supplement, which is included in the combined form. You will only need to complete the Pawnbroker Criminal Background and Credit Check Authorization form, which is part of the Renewal Application Change of Information Supplement, for any new managers, partners, officers, directors or other people performing similar functions.
Examinations of Licensees
The Division conducts periodic routine and for-cause examinations of pawnbrokers with or without notice. The Division charges $75 per hour for examiner time for the exam. We encourage licensed pawnbrokers to review the
examination form our examiners use and conduct self-evaluations to help ensure their compliance with Oregon requirements. The Division maintains the laws and rules related to pawnbrokers that the Division enforces on our website here.