Skip to main content

Continuing education requirements

Agents

Continuing education (CE) is required for all resident Oregon agents with life, health, property, casualty, personal lines, surplus lines, or variable life lines of authority.

CE hours are due by the last day of the renewal month. However, by law, CE providers have 15 days to enter your credits. If you wait until the last minute, your renewal will be late. The Division strongly recommends you become CE compliant the month prior the expiration date of your license.

Each two-year renewal cycle requires 24 hours of CE credit. Of these:

  • At least three hours must be professional ethics
  • At least three hours must be on Oregon statutes and administrative rules, including recent changes
  • No more than four hours is allowed for approved agency management courses
  • Not more than eight hours CE credit will be given in any one day

Adjusters

SB 251 Continuing education (CE) is required for all resident and nonresident adjusters with an Oregon license. Adjuster CE requirement begins with the first renewal of 01/01/2022 and after.

CE hours are due by the last day of the renewal month. However, you will not be able to submit your renewal until you have completed the required hours and they are posted in your Oregon transcript. CE providers have 15 days to enter your credits. If you wait until the last minute, your renewal will be late. The Division strongly recommends you become CE compliant the month prior the expiration date of your license.

Each two-year renewal cycle requires 24 hours of CE credit. Of these:

  • At least three hours must be professional ethics
  • If you have an Oregon resident license, at least three hours must be on Oregon statutes and administrative rules, including recent changes
  • If you have an Oregon non-resident license, you must have completed at least 3 hours of Law in your resident state which is similar to the Oregon requirement, or take a 3 hour Oregon Law course.
  • CE taken for a producer license counts toward adjuster CE credits
  • If you have completed Adjuster CE in another state, it can count towards the Oregon requirement
    • If you select providers/courses approved for OR as well as your resident state, your credit will be uploaded in to your transcript with Oregon
    • If your CE is not uploaded to Oregon, you will have to send your CE certificates at time of renewal. (Do not send to us until you have completed the full 24 hours of CE)
    • If your resident state only requires 18 hour of CE for example, you will need to complete the additional needed to meet the Oregon requirement of 24 hours

Consultants

No continuing education is required for consultants.

Supplemental training

Supplemental training is required before selling long-term care insurance, flood insurance, or annuities.

The appointing insurers must verify that agents who sell these products are trained, so you do not have to report this training to the division. However, if these courses have been approved continuing education, the hours may be included in the total number of hours necessary to renew your license.

Registered proctors

Proctors monitor exams taken by agents who use independent study courses to meet continuing education requirements. Proctors must register with the Division of Financial Regulation, but the division does not endorse or recommend proctors.

Bend, Prineville

ProStudies: 541-388-1021

La Grande, Hermiston

Kerry Carpenter (Baker City): 541-523-5057

Linn, Benton counties

Marilyn McCreary (Tangent, Lebanon, Sweet Home): 541-926-4883

Medford, Grants Pass

Abdill Career College: 541-779-8384

Jared Goff: 541-956-0299

Real Estate & Insurance School of Oregon: 541-772-1171

Oregon coast

Pete Anderson Online Prelicense Classes (Seaside): 503-738-9531

Patrice Bowie (Seaside): 503-738-9531

Theresa Esprecion (Coos Bay): 541-267-4110

Patches Newman (Coos Bay): 541-267-4110

Jacqueline Rich (Coos Bay): 541-267-4110

Tammy Stebbins (Brookings): 541-469-7431

Portland

Amerist School 800-368-6743

Justine Bartlett: 503-248-6465

Angela Crawford: 503-223-6376

Ariel Farris: 514-661-0471

John Lenz: 503-222-3924

Jacqueline Poehner: 503-632-4122

ProSchools: 800-452-4879

Rita Robinson: 503-557-4997

Kelly Rose: 503-226-3952

Roseburg

Pauline Clayton: 541-672-5274

Donna Getz: 541-672-5274

David LaLande: 541-679-1251

Jo Ann Pierce (Winston): 541-430-8818

 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×