You are here:
The majority of complaints we receive are from Oregonians who applied for a payday/title loan through an unlicensed lender. Below are three Oregonians with their experiences with unlicensed lenders. (Some of the complaints were edited for clarity and brevity).
I took out a loan for $300 and have had a $90 fee deducted every two weeks, making the total amount I paid $1,440. Have put a “hard stop” payment for any further ACH deductions as I have paid the loan almost three times over.
In this case, Oregon law limits loan fees to a maximum one-time $30
I took out a payday loan in the amount of $400 and in four months, six debits (automatic withdrawals) were taken from my bank account. At this point, after paying $745 on a $400 loan, I still owed $390. (In an email, the lender) said that they were a party of the General Agreement of the Tariff and Trade (G.A.T.T) so they did not have to abide by state laws, only federal government laws. We were in a financial bind and let me say, this has been an expensive lesson learned.
The G.A.T.T. assertion is false, but is routinely used by illegal payday lenders.
Obtained a $300 loan from this company via Money Mutual. Since that time, I have paid a total of $1,295 for a $300 loan. I have no access to my records on their website and no one at the company will speak to me, yet they continue to debit my account every other week.
In this case, this amount is well over Oregon’s fee and annual percentage rate limitation of 153.77 percent.
Remember, all payday lenders offering loans to Oregonians, must be licensed. This list includes lenders that are properly licensed.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how