Skip to main content

Pawn loans

A pawned item is considered a loan because the borrower is using the item’s value to get a loan. Pawnbrokers licensed in Oregon can offer loans based on the following criteria:

  • Loans must be for a minimum of 60 days.
  • A set-up fee of 10 percent of the loan amount, with a minimum of $2 and a maximum of $250, is charged for each item.
  • A storage fee of 5 percent of the loan amount, with a minimum of $2 and a maximum of $250, is charged for each item.
  • Interest on a pawn is limited to 3 percent a month.
  • Loans on firearms are allowed and the fees include the same set-up and storage fee for other pawned items, but there also is a $3 firearm fee and a $10 background check fee that is required before a firearm can be released. The pawnbroker may also charge a $1 fee to renew the loan.
  • There are no restrictions on renewing the loan, but the pawnbroker will charge the same interest and fees to extend another 60 days. 

Note: There is a 30-day grace period on an initial loan; however, there is no grace period on loan renewals.

When you pawn an item, the pawnbroker will give you a ticket – this is your loan agreement. The ticket describes your pawn, the loan amount, fees, interest, and when the loan is due. Keep your ticket in a safe place until the time your loan is due and you pay it off.

Tribal lenders

Some lenders are owned by, or associated with, federally recognized Indian tribes, and may explain that they operate under tribal sovereignty. Tribal sovereignty means they are separate from federal or state government and can make loans with higher fees and interest rates than those allowed by state laws. Currently, Oregon tribes are not involved in lending.

To file a complaint against a tribal-run payday lender, contact the following federal agencies:

Federal Trade Commission: 1-877-382-4357 (toll-free)

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: 1-855-411-2372 (toll-free)

Questions or complaints?

File a complaint online or contact us:

Insurance
888-877-4894 (toll-free)
Email DFR.InsuranceHelp@oregon.gov

Financial services
888-877-4894 (toll-free)
Email DFR.FinancialServicesHelp@oregon.gov

​​​​

Check a license

Always verify that the company or individual you are working with has a license.

Check a license now.

Find licensed payday and title lenders.

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×