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Administrator’s Avenue
Everyone loves a good story

Stories ignite our 
emotions, provide 
common bonds, 
and help us form 
perceptions about the 
world. Stories entertain, 
teach, and inspire 
action. 

Recently, we had the 
honor of hosting our 
first public hearing on 

prescription drug prices. We asked Oregonians to 
share their stories to help us better understand the 
effect rising prescription drug costs have on their 
lives.  

The stories we received were heartbreaking, 
emotional, and insightful. These stories were 
essential for finalizing the program’s first report 
to the Legislature about prescription drug prices 
in Oregon. The data in the report was provided 
by health insurance companies and prescription 
drug manufacturers. The data taught us a lot, and 
the consumer stories confirmed exactly why this 
program matters for our families, friends, and 
neighbors. 

This edition of Common Ground also tells a story. 
It tells the story of how the Oregon Division of 

Financial Regulation works with our regulated 
partners to provide Oregonians access to the 
products, services, and information they need to 
build the future they desire. 

I encourage you to read each article and learn more 
about the ways the division is here to help both 
consumers and businesses. In this issue, you will 
find stories about the Governor’s Wildfire Council, 
steps to help small businesses avoid cyberattacks, 
information on new regulations for pawnbrokers, 
facts about Oregon’s promising captive insurance 
market, and much more. 

As always, thank you for your collaboration and 
commitment to enhance the lives of all Oregonians. I 
look forward to working with you in the new year. 

Welcome to Common Ground.
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Oregon’s Prescription Drug Price Transparency 
Program is the first in the United States to gather 
and publicly disclose comprehensive data about 
prescription drugs.

Even before the inaugural public hearing on Nov. 19, 
2019, Oregonians were sharing stories of how the cost 
of drugs affects their lives.

Insurance Commissioner Andrew Stolfi read from 
personal stories shared by Oregonians at the start of 
the hearing held at the state capitol in Salem.

The first story came from a nurse who helps patients 
with diabetes: 

“I often found my patients would simply go without 
their diabetes medications because they could not 
afford them. We had a pharmacy at our safety net clinic 
that could provide lower cost medications, but even 
with our lower prices, many patients could not afford 
insulin and other diabetes medications.”

Stolfi also shared a heartbreaking story from an 
Oregonian who cannot retire because of the cost of 
prescriptions:

“My spouse needs to take Eliquis, 5 milligrams, 
twice-a-day. A 90-day supply costs $1,343. Again, 
why so much? My spouse has nine different 
prescriptions that have to be taken. Another costs 
$400 for a 30-day supply. My spouse is retired, and 
Social Security is only $1,200 a month. I continue 
to work to receive insurance benefits to cover those 
drug costs. I cannot retire until my spouse dies; I 
can’t afford to.” 

These stories strike at why the Prescription Drug 
Price Transparency Program was enacted during 
the 2018 legislative session. The program focuses 
on creating transparency about price and cost 
information from drug manufacturers, sharing 
information from health insurance companies 
on how prescription drugs drive insurance costs, 
and providing consumers with a way to report 
prescription drug price increases. 

Public hearings are one way to both share and 
gather information.

“Our goal is to provide an outlet for individuals to 

Stories and stats from Oregon’s first prescription drug 
price transparency public hearing 



4Oregon Division of Financial Regulation  Common Ground, Winter 2020

share their personal stories regarding prescription 
drugs and how rising prices have affected their 
lives,” said Cassie Soucy, Prescription Drug Price 
Transparency Program coordinator. “We are 
responsible for sharing those stories and the data 
behind them with legislators.”

Some findings shared at the public hearing 
included:

•	 U.S. prices are typically five times more than 
the highest price globally for prescription drugs 
reported to the program. For example, the 
median price for cardiovascular drugs reported 
to the program was $580, while the majority of 
prices in other countries ranged from $5 to $164. 

•	 Most of the annual price increases reported to 
the program range from the reporting minimum 
of 10 percent to approximately 20 percent. 
Manufacturers attribute these increases to 
rebates, the use of co-pay assistance programs, 
obligations to shareholders, research and 
development costs, and other related factors.

•	 Humira, a drug used to treat Rheumatoid 
Arthritis, was reported as the most costly drug, 

costing insurance companies approximately $220 
million to fill claims for about 6,000 Oregonians 
in 2018. Hydrocodone-Acetaminophen, a pain 
reliever, was the most prescribed drug with over 
325,000 Oregonians filing claims at a total cost of 
$8.6 million.

There was a full room at the hearing in Salem, and 
Oregonians were able to attend satellite locations in 
Astoria, Medford, and Pendleton. These locations 
offered a live stream and accepted public comment 
from those in attendance. A live stream of the 
event was also available on the Oregon Legislature 
website.  

“The personal stories we have received and the data 
we have collected create a strong narrative that 
represents the struggles of many Oregonians,” said 
Stolfi. “We look forward to sharing this narrative 
with the Oregon Legislature and seeing the policy 
changes that come from it.”

Oregon legislators moderating the hearing were 
Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward from Senate 
District 17, Rep. Ron Noble from House District 
24, and Rep. Rob Nosse from House District 42. 

Information on Oregon’s Prescription Drug 
Price Transparency program is available online. 
The website includes a recording of the hearing, 
presentation materials, and a way for Oregonians 
to share their experience with prescription drug 
prices. 

https://dfr.oregon.gov/drugtransparency/Pages/public-hearings.aspx
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Recently, the North American Securities 
Administrators Association hosted a Fintech and 
Cybersecurity Symposium. The live-stream event 
included a cybersecurity and data breach panel 
focused on small businesses and how regulators help 
them comply with data security requirements. 

The panel’s message was clear, small businesses are 
targets for cyber attackers and at risk of a breach if 
they do not pay attention.  

Most cyberattacks are crimes of opportunity. 
Phishing and ransomware attacks can be targeted 
at an almost unlimited number of businesses and 
individuals – it takes only one “bite” for the attacker 
to profit. Small companies cannot afford to assume 
they will not be hit even if they are not specifically 
targeted. 

Generally, data protection laws require small 
businesses to have “administrative, technical, and 
physical safeguards appropriate for their size and 
complexity,” (ORS 646A.622). Most hacks are related 
to people giving away passwords, using a default 
password, and patch vulnerabilities. 

Small businesses may not have dedicated IT or 
cybersecurity staff, but they can change their tech’s 
factory default passwords. Virtual private networks 
(VPNs) are widely available and can help protect 
customer data. Making sure your computer software 
is up to date is an easy step to protect your business, 
so is performing due diligence on data storage 

companies to determine what they are doing to protect 
data. Just because you are using a third-party provider 
for storage does not make your data security their 
problem. You never want to tell customers you cannot 
access their financial account because of a cyberattack.

The panel also warned about the risks of devices such 
as Siri and Alexa. It is important to remember the 
devices around us quietly collect data all the time; this 
is especially true for home offices. These devices are 
not secure. 

Small businesses should think twice about discussing 
account numbers or Social Security numbers in front 
of Siri, Alexa, and Google Home. Even something as 
simple as a client connecting to your Wi-Fi can be a 
problem if they are carrying malware. 

The cyber security panel was a good reminder that 
small businesses should not buy into the myth they 
are not in danger of a cyberattack. All businesses 
have a responsibility to protect their customers’ data. 
Everyone has things they can do to protect themselves 
and their data (by not giving out passwords, and using 
encryption and VPNs). It does involve due diligence, 
but that is far better than the alternative.

For more coverage of the NASAA Fintech and Cyber 
Security Symposium, visit Jim Hamilton's World of 
Securities Regulation Blog.

For more tips on cybersecurity, visit the Protect your 
finances section of our website.

Never too small to be a cyber-breach target

https://jimhamiltonblog.blogspot.com/2019/10/experts-address-cybersecurity-trends.html
https://jimhamiltonblog.blogspot.com/2019/10/experts-address-cybersecurity-trends.html
https://dfr.oregon.gov/financial/protect/Pages/protect-your-identity.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/financial/protect/Pages/protect-your-identity.aspx
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The division issued a $40,000 fine against New York-
based Platinum Trading Company for running a 
cryptocurrency investment scheme. 

Platinum Trading offered investments in Bitcoin 
and recruited people to participate in its investment 
network as promoters. The promoters were asked to 
either find new customers or help existing customers 
invest in one of the available plans. 

Promoters arranged the purchase of Bitcoin and 
assigned it to Platinum. Both the investor and 
promoter believed the money was being placed into 
a designated account for the investor when it was 
actually being held in a digital wallet for Platinum. 

The division received complaints of alleged fraud 
in May 2018. The investigation revealed at least 25 
people across the United States invested more than 
$455,000 into this scheme. Two Oregonians lost 
approximately $5,000. 

The division issued a $40,000 penalty for violations 
of Oregon securities laws, including securities fraud. 
It also took enforcement action against one promoter 
that facilitated the transfer of Bitcoin to Platinum. 

“Unfortunately, fraud schemes like this are 
everywhere, as criminals continue to look for new 
ways to steal your money,” said Andrew Stolfi, 

division administrator. “Cryptocurrencies are popular 
investment schemes because they have limited 
government regulation, are easy to set up, and the 
transfer of money is difficult to trace.”

The division encourages consumers to do their 
homework before making any investment. For 
consumers considering investing in cryptocurrency, 
follow these tips:

•	 Do not spend money you need. Cryptocurrency is 
not a stable asset and can experience sharp increases 
and decreases in value. 

•	 Treat cryptocurrency like a nonliquid investment – 
one that cannot be easily converted to cash – such 
as oil or gold. It does not have a tangible value and 
does not pay interest or dividends. 

•	 Use a licensed money transmitter to exchange 
cryptocurrency. 

Visit dfr.oregon.gov/financial/investments for more 
information and tips to share with consumers about 
investing. 

Visit Suspected financial exploitation to report 
possible fraud of a vulnerable person.  

For up-to-date news about the division’s enforcement 
efforts, check out the latest edition of  Taking Action. 

Platinum Trading fined $40,000 for Bitcoin investment scheme

https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/complaints-licenses/Pages/check-license.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/financial/investments/Pages/index.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/licensing/financial/securities/Pages/suspected-financial-exploitation.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Pages/enforcement-summaries.aspx


7Oregon Division of Financial Regulation  Common Ground, Winter 2020

Pawnbrokers – new rules and 
guidelines for pledge loans
Starting Jan. 1, 2020, licensed pawnbrokers can use 
an off-site location for storing a large pledge item if 
the customer agrees. House Bill 2463 from the 2019 
legislative session amends Oregon Revised Statute 
chapter 726. Oregon Administrative Rule 441-740-
0029 has been adopted to clarify the requirements for 
using off-site storage. 

A licensed pawnbroker must notify the division 
at least 30 days before storing pledged items at a 
location other than its storefront. Updated forms to 
notify the division of any changes can be found on its 
applications, forms, and reports page.

Under the new rules, items in off-site storage cannot 
be more than 10 percent of all pledged items at the 
time of the pledge loan. The law changed to allow 
licensed pawnbrokers to be more responsive when 
someone wants to pawn a large item. 

Pawnbrokers are expected to keep most pledged 
items at their place of business and only a few items 
should be stored off site. Here are examples of the 10 
percent off-site limitation:

Example 1: Melody has a business buying and selling 
used goods. She recently got a pawnbroker license 
and has an off-site storage for large items. Melody 
has made a pledge loan for six items and someone 
has requested a pledge loan for a boat. She cannot 
store it at her business and would have more than 
10 percent of pledged items off site if she accepted it. 
Therefore, she cannot make the pledge loan. Melody 

must wait until she has at least 10 pledged items in 
her possession before she can store one pledged item 
off site. 

Example 2: George is a licensed pawnbroker and has 
an off-site storage for large items. He has made pledge 
loans for 200 items and he has 19 of those in off-
site storage. Later pledgors redeem 15 of the on-site 
pledged items and George does not make any new 
pledge loans. Even though the percentage stored off 
site is now more than 10 percent (19 of 185 = 10.2%), 
he is allowed to keep those 19 items in off-site storage 
and renew their loans, because he had enough pledge 
items when the loans were made. George cannot 
make any pledge loans to store additional items off-
site until his off-site percentage is at or less than 10 
percent of the total number of pledged items.

As part of the department’s rulemaking, OAR 441-
740-0010 was amended to change the due date for 
future license renewals. Upcoming license renewals 
will be good through January 2021. The change was 
made to coordinate license renewals and the annual 
report. 

Also, House Bill 2089 amended ORS chapter 725A. It 
clarified that payday and title lenders must wait seven 
days after one loan is paid off before issuing another 
loan to the same person. The result is that a payday 
or title lender can make only one loan at a time to a 
person. The new law is designed to help consumers 
avoid a spiral of debt. 

The division has been asked if these restrictions apply 
to licensed pawnbrokers who offer pledge loans. 

They do not. 

A pledge loan is for a pledge item, or group of items, 
given as collateral and does not involve multiple loans 
at the same time for the same pledge item. Licensed 
pawnbrokers are permitted to enter into multiple 
pledge loans at the same time for different items with 
the same person. 

Review ORS chapter 726 and OAR chapter 441, 
division 740, for more information about pawnbroker 
requirements.

https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/licensing/financial/Pages/applications-forms-reports.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Pages/index.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Pages/index.aspx
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The Oregon captive advantage is growing

This article originally appeared on Captive.com, 
written by Jerry Geisel.

While Oregon is a relatively small captive domicile, the 
state has enjoyed significant captive growth over the 
last few years.

At the end of 2018, Oregon had 17 captive insurance 
companies, which is more than double compared to 
2014, when the state had just 8 captives.

Oregon's captive premium volume has risen even 
more significantly. In 2018, for example, Oregon 
captives generated nearly $749 million in gross written 
premiums, which is well over four times more than in 
2014, when the state's captive insurers reported just 

under $170 million in gross written premiums.

An important factor in Oregon's captive growth has 
been the responsive staff at the Oregon Division of 
Financial Regulation, captive experts say.

"There is a very friendly and responsive staff," said 
Robert Kabacy, a partner with the law firm Kell, 
Alterman & Runstein LLP in Portland, Oregon.

"The regulators have been just wonderful to deal 
with. While they are strict, they also are accessible 
and very responsive when clients have questions," 
said Keith Langlands, a managing member of 
Synergy Captive Strategies LLC in Las Vegas, 
Nevada.

https://www.captive.com/domiciles/oregon-captive-domicile-summary
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Year Captives

2018 17

2017 13

2016 9

2015 8

2014 8

*Only includes active captives and 
excludes cell captives, which are not 
authorized in Oregon.

Year Premium volume

2018 $748.9 million

2017 $818.5 million

2016 $733.3 million

2015 $691.7 million

2014 $169.5 million

Captives' Gross Written Premiums
Oregon

Total Captive Count* Oregon

Oregon insurance officials say they make it a point to 
be accessible.

"We have a business-friendly environment. We are 
easy to work with and are flexible. Our staff is very 
experienced," said Ryan Keeling, senior financial 
analyst with Oregon's Division of Financial Regulation 
in Salem, Oregon.

At the same time, Mr. Keeling notes, Oregon has a very 
attractive captive statute. For example, unlike many 
captive domiciles in other states, Oregon does not 
impose premium taxes on captives.

"We have no premium taxes," Mr. Keeling said.

To be sure, captives are assessed fees, but those fees are 
modest. For example, new captives have to pay a one-
time $5,000 licensing fee, which also covers the annual 
certificate of authority renewal fee for a captive's first 
year.

Another requirement that captives have to meet 
includes, in the case of single-parent captives, 
maintaining a minimum of $250,000 in capital and 
surplus, while association captives must have at least 
$750,000 in capital and surplus.

Oregon's captive statute, which was passed in 2012, 
also requires a captive insurance company's board of 
directors to hold one annual meeting in the state.

In addition, captives have to file—no later than March 
1—annual financial reports, while the Oregon Division 
of Financial Regulation examines all captives at least 
once every 3 years.

Oregon captives can write all lines of coverage except 
workers compensation, life, health, or any personal 
property or personal line of insurance.

Looking ahead, Mr. Keeling predicts "slow but steady 
growth" in the number of Oregon captives.

For more information about Oregon’s captive domicile 
contact: Dennis Ault

mailto:dennis.m.ault%40oregon.gov?subject=
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Governor’s Council on Wildfire Response issues report

The Governor’s Council on Wildfire Response 
issued a 109-page report recommending $4 billion 
in investments needed to mitigate Oregon’s growing 
wildfire risk. Oregon Gov. Kate Brown directed the 
council to review Oregon’s current model for wildfire 
prevention, preparedness, and response. 

Division of Financial Regulation Administrator Andrew 
Stolfi served on the council by providing insights and 
recommendations regarding the insurance industry.

The council identified the need for comprehensive 
change and recommended three overarching goals:

1. Create fire-adapted communities

2. Restore and maintain resilient landscapes

3. Respond safely and effectively to wildfire

Creating fire-adapted communities includes the 
improvement of structural resiliency to wildfire, 
enhancement of defensible space surrounding 
structures, and ensuring adequate access and egress in 
a wildfire. The council also recommended that the state 
ensure its electrical utilities implement best practice risk 
mitigation strategies to reduce human-caused ignitions. 

Emergency response, disaster recovery, and health 

systems must modernize to fully consider wildfire 
risks, particularly to Oregon’s most vulnerable 
communities. To restore and maintain resilient 
landscapes, the council recommended the state 
actively manage its forests and rangelands and 
prioritize thinning, prescribed burns, and fuel 
removal on 5.6 million acres of Oregon’s highest-risk 
natural systems. 

The costs of such treatments are significant, 
estimated at $4 billion over 20 years. Studies 
suggest the comprehensive costs of wildfire damage 
are 11 times greater than the immediate costs of 
firefighting. 

Firefighting costs exceed $500 million during high 
fire seasons, and comprehensive costs to Oregonians 
total several billion dollars for a single year. Over 
a 20-year time span, comprehensive costs to 
Oregonians can easily total tens of billions of dollars.

By investing in restoration treatments, Oregon may 
avoid these costs while creating green jobs in rural 
Oregon.
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Bulletins, notices, and resources
Changes to wrecked vehicles and plate transfers 
effective Jan. 1, 2020

Beginning Jan. 1, Oregon law allows license plates 
and registration to be retained or transferred if a 
vehicle has been wrecked and certain criteria are 
met. The new law:

•	 Allows customers to retain their plate and 
registration on a wrecked vehicle with a branded 
title, even if the plates are not from current issue.

•	 Allows customers to transfer the plate and 
registration from a totaled or substantially altered 
vehicle.

The law separates “totaled” and “substantially 
altered” from “wrecked, dismantled, and 
disassembled” for retiring or canceling registration.

Wrecked, Dismantled, and Disassembled

Current requirements for retitling wrecked, 
dismantled, or disassembled vehicles still apply:

•	 If a vehicle is wrecked, dismantled, or 
disassembled, the title and registration is canceled 
and plates cannot be retained on the vehicle or 
transferred. 

•	 If a vehicle with a wrecked, dismantled, or 
disassembled indicator is titled and registered as 
an assembled vehicle, a reconstructed vehicle, or a 
replica, new plates and registration must be issued.  

Totaled or Substantially Altered

If a vehicle is totaled or substantially altered, or 
the vehicle is a recovered theft, the plates and 
registration may:

•	 Be transferred, according to current plate transfer 
laws

•	 Remain on the vehicle, as long as a salvage title has 
not been issued

When Driver and Motor Vehicles receives Form 735-
6017, Notice of Vehicle to be Dismantled, and the 
“substantially altered” box is checked, registration 
will not be retired or canceled. Plates and existing 
registration will remain on the vehicle or may be 
transferred according to current plate transfer laws.  

DMV will place a Substantially Altered indicator on 
the vehicle record.

If the “substantially altered” box is not checked on 
Form 735-6017, registration is canceled and may not 
be used again on any vehicle.

When DMV receives Form 735-270, Dismantler’s  
Vehicle Notice to DMV, and the “substantially 
altered” box is checked, registration will not be 
retired or canceled. Plates and existing registration 
will remain on the vehicle or may be transferred 
according to current plate transfer laws.

If the “substantially altered” box is not checked on 
Form 735-270, the registration is canceled.
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When DMV receives notice that a vehicle has been 
totaled, a Totaled Without Ownership Doc or 
Totaled With Ownership Doc indicator is placed on 
the vehicle record. Currently, the indicator cancels 
the registration and title. 

Starting Jan. 1, the registration will not be canceled. 
The record will retain the current registration status 
and the plate and registration may be retained on the 
vehicle or transferred to another vehicle according to 
current plate transfer laws.

DMV related questions may be directed to 503-945-
5000 or 503-299-9999 (Portland Metro area), or visit 
Oregondmv.com. 

Producers of Nonadmitted Wet Marine & 
Transportation Insurance

In 2019, the Oregon legislature passed House 
Bill 2787, which takes effect Jan. 1, 2020. This 
bill imposes a tax of three-fourths of one percent 
(0.0075) of the gross premium amounts on all 
nonadmitted Wet Marine & Transportation 
insurance policies that the insurance producer places 
with unauthorized or nonadmitted insurers if the 
insured’s home state is Oregon.

The tax applies to policies issued or renewed starting 
Jan. 1. It is the responsibility of the insurance 
producer to collect, file, and pay the tax within 90 
days of the effective date of the policy or premium 
bearing endorsement. The filing and payment of the 
tax must be done through the Oregon Surplus Line 

Association. More information is available on at 
http://www.oregonsla.org/.

The Surplus Line Association has the authority to 
charge a service charge for each policy or premium 
bearing endorsement filed. Details related to the 
service charge are available on website.

Details relating to the law can be found in the text of 
the enrolled bill.

Resources from the division:

In your language: resources for consumers

Oregon Prescription Drug Price Transparency 
Program inaugural report 

Taking Action: Quarterly enforcement summaries

Common Ground newsletter

440-5360 (12/19/COM)

Oregon Division of Financial Regulation

https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregonsla.org/
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2019R1/Measures/Overview/HB2787
https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/language/Pages/index.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/drugtransparency/Pages/annual-reports.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/drugtransparency/Pages/annual-reports.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Pages/enforcement-summaries.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/news/Pages/common-ground.aspx
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