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Regulator reboot: Common Ground
Change creates opportunity to help us 
identify our common ground. 

My name is Andrew Stolfi 
and I am the new 
administrator and 
insurance commissioner 
for the Division of 
Financial Regulation. As I 
get started, I want to take a 
moment to reflect on 
change and how it reveals a 
common ground for us as 

regulators and you as businesses. 

I spent the past six years in Switzerland at the 
International Association of Insurance Supervisors, 
most recently as Chief Operating Officer and Chief 
Counsel. Bringing my family back to the states was 
a major change I sought to serve the consumers and 
businesses of this great state.

Two years ago, the Oregon Insurance Division 
merged with the Division of Finance and Corporate 
Securities to form the Division of Financial 
Regulation. This change established a more efficient 
and effective structure enabling us to better serve 
Oregon consumers and businesses.

The fact is simple; we are all here to protect and 
support Oregon consumers. You provide valuable 
products and services to enrich their lives and ensure 
financial security and peace of mind. Our mission is 

to protect access to fair products and services for all 
Oregonians. 

In 2018, I want all of us to embrace this common 
ground. Working together, we can all protect and 
serve Oregon’s consumers while supporting a positive 
business climate. 

I believe transparent communication is essential to 
making this happen. That is why we decided to revive 
and rename The Regulator, a publication from the 
Oregon Insurance Division that provided news and 
information to insurance agents and administrators. 

With this first official newsletter from the Division 
of Financial Regulation, I want us to embrace our 
common ground and focus on how we can all work 
together to make Oregon a great place for consumers 
and businesses to thrive. 

In this flagship edition, you will find a summary of 
new laws that are now in place, an introduction to 
our consumer outreach team, department news, and 
recent bulletins. 

I look forward to meeting and working with you in 
the days, weeks, months, and years ahead. 

I hope you find this newsletter informative and 
beneficial. 

Welcome to Common Ground.
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Advocacy
Meet the Outreach Team
Outreach and education are essential to 
accomplishing our mission. The Outreach team is 
actively engaged in presenting important information 
around the state on subjects like financial literacy, 
home buying, identity theft, and insurance. 

The members of our team: 
Brian J. Fordham, Advocacy and Outreach section 
manager. Brian has 24 years of insurance industry 
experience, including 10 years at the Oregon 
Insurance Division and the Washington Department 
of Labor and Industries.

Ron Fredrickson, senior policy analyst. Ron has 
more than 30 years of insurance experience and 10 
years as the Consumer Advocacy manager for the 
former Oregon Insurance Division. 

Kevin Jefferies, consumer liaison. Kevin joined the 
Insurance Division in 2011. Before that, he served 
as the legislative and communications director for 
three legislators. Kevin also spent a few years as a 
social studies teacher at Amity Middle School and 
McMinnville High School. 

Fernando Velez, outreach coordinator. Fernando’s 
background is in banking and mortgage lending, 
including four years as mortgage loan officer and two 
years as Financial Services manager for the Portland 
Housing Center. 

Karla Martinez, outreach coordinator. Karla has 
more than 16 years of insurance industry experience 
and six years as a consumer advocate. 

2018 Outreach themes

First quarter 
• Budgeting/savings

• Credit/insurance

Second quarter
• Mental health

• Homeownership

Third quarter
• Auto insurance and   
  financing

• Life insurance

• Long-term care

Fourth quarter 
• Cyber/financial security

• Health insurance
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New laws to help protect consumers

The 2018 legislative session garnered a lot of 
attention, and we will review it in the next issue. 
While those bills are being signed into law, let’s look 
back at the 2017 session and the new consumer 
protection laws that are now in effect. 

Senate Bill 95 protects senior citizens from 
financial exploitation. It requires broker-dealers and 
investment advisors to report suspected cases of elder 
financial exploitation. Broker-dealers and investment 
advisors may delay account disbursements for up 
to 15 days if they suspect it will result in financial 
exploitation of a vulnerable person. The bill contains 
immunities for good faith actions authorized under 
the bill.

Senate Bill 96 requires securities professionals 
to carry at least $1 million in errors and omissions 
insurance to cover losses due to failures in 
supervision, misrepresentations, and bad acts. 
Securities professionals are required to have this 
insurance by July 31. The bill makes exceptions for 
broker-dealers covered by the federal Securities 
Exchange Act and also where the registered 
investment advisor has their principal office in 
another state.

Senate Bill 98 requires non-bank mortgage servicers 
to obtain a license from the Department of Consumer 
and Business Services. Additionally, the law sets 
minimum standards for servicing loans in Oregon, 
prohibits fraudulent activity, and allows DCBS to 
investigate complaints. (See story on Page 5.) 

House Bill 2356 creates a licensing system for debt 
buyers. It allows DCBS to set standards and take 
action to protect consumers. 

House Bill 2339 bans health care providers from 
billing consumers for amounts above what health 
insurance pays when the consumer is in an in-
network facility, but is treated by an out-of-network 
provider. (See story on Page 6.)

House Bill 2391 was a health care package 
designed to fund Medicaid services and establish 
the Oregon Reinsurance Program for the next two 
years. It provides funding for these services through 
assessments on health care providers, insurers, 
managed care organizations, and hospitals. The law 
also requires these organizations to file quarterly 
gross premium reports with the Department of 
Consumer and Business Services. 

Measure 101 is the funding mechanism for HB 
2391. The passage of Measure 101 by Oregon voters 
in January established a 1.5 percent assessment of the 
gross amount of earned premiums from insurance 
companies and the Public Employees’ Benefit 
Board to fund the state’s reinsurance programs. The 
reinsurance fund will reimburse insurers when its 
claim costs exceed a threshold dollar amount known 
as the attachment point. 
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New year, new mortgage loan 
protections for Oregonians 
The Department of Consumer and Business Services 
(DCBS) now has the authority to regulate mortgage 
loan servicing companies. 

Senate Bill 98, passed during the 2017 legislative 
session, places mortgage companies that service 
Oregon home loans under the licensing and 
enforcement authority of the department’s Division 
of Financial Regulation. Mortgage loan servicing 
companies must now obtain a license from the 
division. 

“This new law enables us to protect and advocate for 
Oregonians throughout the life of their mortgage,” 
said Cameron Smith, DCBS director. “Homeowners 
now have an avenue to report any unfair actions of 
the mortgage companies that service their home 
loans.” 

The new law comes on the heels of the state issuing 
a conditional license to one of the nation’s largest 
mortgage servicing companies, Ocwen Loan 

Servicing, LLC. The conditional license is the result of 
a multi-state investigation into Ocwen’s management 
of its escrow accounts. 

As a condition of the multi-state investigation, Ocwen 
hired a third-party auditor to review the management 
of its escrow accounts and will provide restitution 
to customers that were harmed by the company’s 
failure to handle mortgage payments. Ocwen is also 
restricted from acquiring new mortgage servicing 
rights for any home loans until April 30. 

The Ocwen investigation took place before the new 
law, but shows how the state can help residents with 
more of their mortgage concerns. 

The department’s Division of Financial Regulation 
has several home buying and home ownership 
resources. If you experience problems with your 
mortgage company, call our advocates at 866-814-
9710 (toll-free).

http://dfr.oregon.gov/AdminOrders/enf-orders-2017/Final%20Consent%20Order.pdf
http://dfr.oregon.gov/gethelp/foreclosure/Pages/index.aspx
http://dfr.oregon.gov/gethelp/foreclosure/Pages/index.aspx
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New law protects consumers from 
surprise medical bills 
A new law protects consumers from receiving 
surprise out-of-network medical bills from health 
care providers. The new law prevents health 
providers, who were not chosen by the consumer, 
from balance billing services performed on or after 
March 1, 2018. 

Balance billing occurs when an out-of-network 
health care provider you did not choose, such as 
an emergency room physician, anesthesiologist, 
or radiologist, bills you for more than the allowed 
in-network charges when you are at an in-network 
facility. 

The Division of Financial Regulation is available 
to assist Oregonians who believe they have been 
improperly balance billed.

“It is almost impossible to choose every medical 
provider at a medical center that treats you, even 

more so in the case of an emergency,” said Andrew 
Stolfi, Oregon insurance commissioner. “If you are 
surprised by a bill from an out-of-network doctor or 
other health care provider, you should connect with 
our advocacy team immediately.” 

If you receive services from an out-of-network 
provider, you may still be responsible for co-
insurance, co-payments, or deductibles. The new 
law does not prevent consumers from choosing an 
out-of-network provider, nor does it prevent out-of-
network providers from balance billing consumers 
when consumers choose to see them. 

If you have questions or concerns regarding your 
insurance coverage or a surprise medical bill connect 
with our advocates at 888-877-4894 (toll-free) or visit 
our website.

http://dfr.oregon.gov/gethelp/Pages/file-a-complaint.aspx
http://dfr.oregon.gov/gethelp/Pages/file-a-complaint.aspx
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Oregon will be one of first three states awarded  
federal funds to support reinsurance program 

Oregon is one of the first three states to receive 
funding from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services to support a state reinsurance program. The 
state’s award will be approximately $54 million. 

The Oregon Reinsurance Program, created during last 
year’s legislative session, spreads the risk of high-cost 
claims among all insurance companies to steady the 
individual health market. The Oregon Department 
of Consumer and Business Services will manage the 
program. 

“The federal funding recognizes our work to 
provide comprehensive health insurance options for 
Oregonians,” said Cameron Smith, DCBS director. 
“The Oregon Reinsurance Program will help provide 

market stability for over 200,000 individuals, and 
encourage insurance companies to offer plans in 
every corner of the state.” 

The reinsurance program will be funded by the 
federal award, funds from the Oregon Temporary 
Reinsurance Program that ended in 2016, the Oregon 
Health Insurance Marketplace assessment, and the 
assessment that was approved by the Measure 101 
vote. 

Now that funding is secured, the department can 
set operating parameters and guidelines for the 
reinsurance program. Estimated funding will be more 
than $90 million for 2018.
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Risks and tips before buying digital currency
The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business 
Services recently received two consumer complaints 
regarding digital currency transactions. Both cases 
involve consumers unable to get help accessing their 
accounts from their digital currency exchange. 

These complaints reveal several risks and tips for 
consumers to consider before purchasing digital assets, 
often referred to as cryptocurrency. 

What is 
cryptocurrency?

Cryptocurrencies are 
unregulated digital 
assets that have no 
government backing. 
They are typically 
purchased, used, 
stored, and traded 
electronically through 
a digital currency 
exchange. They can be 

traded for goods and services, transferred from one 
person to another, or held for investment purposes. 
Cryptocurrency does not meet the economic definition 
of currency.

Types of cryptocurrency

There are many cryptocurrencies in circulation. 
The most common is Bitcoin. Others include 
Ethereum, Dogecoin, Dash, BitConnect, and Litecoin. 
Cryptocurrencies are created through sophisticated 
computer algorithms called mining.

The risks of cryptocurrency

Currently, cryptocurrency is not regulated by the 
federal government or by the State of Oregon. Digital 
currency is appealing to some people because it is 
unregulated, and difficult to trace. This creates several 
risks for consumers: 

•	 Owners typically have no recourse if their 
cryptocurrency is lost, stolen, or hacked from 
their accounts at a digital currency exchange. 
Digital currency exchanges are common targets for 
cyberattacks.

•	 Cryptocurrency is not a stable asset and can 
experience sudden and sharp increases or 
decreases in value. 

•	 Cryptocurrency holdings are not federally 
insured. Unlike deposits in a bank or credit union, 
cryptocurrency is not insured by the Federal 
Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) or National 
Credit Union Administration (NCUA).

•	 Businesses are not required to accept 
cryptocurrencies as payment for goods and 
services, and very few accept them. 

Tips before purchasing cryptocurrency

The Department of Consumer and Business Services 
encourages Oregonians to follow these tips before 
purchasing cryptocurrency:

•	 Do not spend money you cannot afford to lose. 
The volatility of the digital currency market means 
that you should not purchase cryptocurrency with 
money that is needed for essential purposes such as 
food, housing, and bills.

•	 Treat digital currency like a nonliquid investment 
similar to oil, copper, or gold. However, understand 
that digital currencies do not have any tangible 
value and do not pay interest or dividends. 

•	 To transmit cryptocurrency to someone else, use a 
digital currency exchange that is licensed with the 
state. Oregon law requires companies that transfer 
digital currency from one person to another to be 
licensed as money transmitters. Digital currency 
exchange companies that only turn cash into 
digital currency are not required to be licensed.
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DFR 2018-01: Accepting pharmacy or medical billings for vaccinations 

Under Oregon law, the public health director of the Oregon Health Authority has the ability to declare a disease 
outbreak in a particular part of Oregon or across the state. When the director declares that a disease outbreak 
exists, insurers offering health benefit plans in the state must cover the cost of necessary vaccinations or similar 
preventive measures to prevent the spread of disease. 

On Nov. 1, 2017, the public health director declared an outbreak of meningococcal disease at Oregon State 
University, requiring health insurers to cover vaccinations of Oregon State students. 

The bulletin includes additional requirements of insurers.

Oregon Division of Financial Regulation

440-5360 (3/18/COM)

http://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Documents/Bulletins/bulletin2018-01.pdf

