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Administrator’s Avenue
Thankful for fall planning  

Fall planning season has 
arrived. A season full 
of brainstorming, goal 
setting, strategy meetings, 
and budget analysis. This 
has been the perfect time 
to reflect on the past year, 
and make sure all of our 
future goals, objectives, 
and plans are centered on 

the Oregon consumer. 

Personally, I really enjoy this time of year. It provides 
the opportunity to connect with my colleagues on a 
deeper level. I get a sense of what excites them about 
public service, and how their focus helps drive our 
commitment to consumer protection. 

Much of my summer and fall has been spent meeting 
with many of you, our state’s insurance and financial 
services professionals. I have thoroughly enjoyed 
learning more about your areas of expertise, while 
sharing how our work at the Division of Financial 
Regulation intersects with your commitment to 
Oregon consumers.  

As we turn our sights to 2019, we are focused on 
implementing several laws and rules through our 
committee work and rulemaking process. You will 
find updates on a lot of that in the laws and rules 
section of this newsletter. 

We have also been working to make sure you are 
well-informed on the state’s laws regarding the federal 
rules related to short-term, limited-duration health 
insurance plans and association health plans. 

However, the Division of Financial Regulation 
covers a lot more than health insurance. We recently 
completed our report on earthquake insurance 
in Oregon, and helped draft the final report to 
the legislature for the Task Force on Autonomous 
Vehicles. 

We are also committed to investigating and warning 
consumers about investment, mortgage lending, and 
debt management scams. We are proud to work with 
so many ethical professionals in this state who help so 
many Oregonians reach their financial goals, and we 
encourage you to help us identify and weed out those 
who seek to con Oregonians for personal gain. 

As we wrap-up fall planning and set our sights on 
time with family and friends during the holidays, 
I want to wish all of you a special holiday season. I 
am very thankful for your willingness to collaborate, 
and your commitment to enhancing the lives of all 
Oregonians.

Happy Holidays,

 

 Welcome to Common Ground.
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Guidance 
for short-
term health 
insurance 

The division is reminding insurance companies and 
professionals that it is a violation of Oregon law to 
market, sell, or offer short-term health insurance 
policies that exceed three months, including renewals, 
and a new policy cannot be issued to a customer 
within 60 days of expiration.

Anyone aware of the unlawful marketing, sale, or 
offering of short-term health insurance policies in 
Oregon is encouraged to contact the division at 888-
877-4894 (toll-free).

Background
On Aug. 3, 2018, the United States departments of 
Health and Human Services, Labor, and Treasury 
published a final regulation on short-term, limited-
duration insurance, 38 FR 38212. The regulation 
defines short-term health insurance plans as lasting 
less than 12 months, and has a total duration of 36 
months or less, including renewals and extensions. 

For purposes of federal law, short-term health 
insurance is not subject to Affordable Care Act 
market reform regulations, such as guaranteed 
availability and coverage for pre-existing conditions.

The federal regulation does not prevent states from 
enforcing stricter requirements for short-term health 
plans, including shorter duration limits.

Application of short-term, limited-duration 
insurance regulation in Oregon
Accordingly, Oregon law limits short-term health 
insurance policies to a maximum of three months, 
including renewals, and new policies cannot be issued 
within 60 days of expiration. A health insurance 
policy that is in effect for a longer period violates the 
exception for short-term health insurance under ORS 
743B.005(16)(b)(H), and needs to comply with the 
Oregon requirements for a health benefit plan.

A person who participates in the marketing, sale, 
or offering of a health insurance policy that does 
not comply with these requirements may violate the 
insurance code and be subject to civil penalties.

The division’s current product standards for short-
term, limited-duration insurance and health benefit 
plans are available here: dfr.oregon.gov/rates-forms/
health/Pages/health.aspx.

Recently, the division developed a consumer guide 
for short-term plans. Professionals who sell health 
insurance plans to Oregon consumers are encouraged 
to use the consumer guide as a way to help customers 
make educated decisions on their health insurance 
coverage needs. To get a translated version of the 
guide, contact a consumer advocate at 888-877-4894 
(toll-free). ◆

VS.

??

Short-term health 
insurance

Full-coverage 
health insurance

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2018-08-03/pdf/2018-16568.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/rates-forms/health/Pages/health.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/rates-forms/health/Pages/health.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/insure/health/understand/Pages/short-term-questions.aspx
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The division is regularly involved in several 
rulemaking committees and workgroups. The full list 
is maintained on our website, but here is an update on 
some recent laws and rules.  

The Prescription Drug Price Transparency 
Advisory Committee has met multiple times and has 
a wide-range of interests advising on the rulemaking. 
The process should be completed before the end of 
the year and rules in place by March. 

The committee identified three new positions 
necessary for the division to implement the law. 
Program Coordinator, Cassandra Soucy, joined the 
division earlier this month, and two support positions 
will be filled early next year. 

At this time, the committee is reviewing program 
details such as how reports will be received from 
pharmaceutical manufacturers and insurers. Click 
here to learn more. 

The Balance Billing Advisory Committee was 
convened in April of this year. The 19-member 
committee met nine times to reach consensus for the 

rulemaking proposal. The proposed rule addresses 
two bills, House Bill 2339 from the 2017 session and 
Senate Bill 1549 from 2018.

HB 2339 prohibits out-of-network providers 
from balance billing patients for medical services 
provided at an in-network facility. SB 1549 requires 
continuation of medical assistance for a specified 
period following admission to a state hospital, 
permits approval of certain health benefits to be used 
with health savings accounts, and requires DCBS to 
establish reimbursement rates for surprise bills.

The proposed rule contains two rate sheets, one for 
anesthesia-related and one for non-anesthesia-related 
claims. It accounts for differences in rating based on 
Oregon’s seven geographic rating areas, and allows 
for annual adjustments based on the Consumer Price 
Index. 

The proposed rule will be finalized and become 
effective Jan. 1. 

HB 4104 from the 2018 session, the Hearing Aid 
Mandate, expanded coverage mandates for hearing 
aids, cochlear implants, and hearing assistive 
technology. 

The new law takes effect Jan. 1, but the timing 
requirements vary for different health plans. 

The requirements for large group plans and plans 
not subject to rate review go into effect for the first 
issuance or renewal after Jan. 1. 

For individual and small group plans, the 
requirements apply for plans that file rates on or 
after Jan. 1. HB 4104 includes age limits and does not 
require coverage of some of the mandated services 
and equipment for adult members.

A bulletin was released recently to address questions 
from the industry about implementing the new law. ◆

Laws and Rules 

https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/committees-workgroups/Pages/index.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/committees-workgroups/Pages/prescription-price-transparency-rac.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/help/committees-workgroups/Pages/prescription-price-transparency-rac.aspx
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In August, Delta Dental of California filed a request, 
known as a Form A, with the Department of 
Consumer and Business Services to purchase a 50 
percent stake of Moda Inc. for approximately $155 
million. 

Delta Dental of California principally issues 
commercial group dental plan coverage, Medicaid 
and Medicare Advantage dental programs, and 
individual dental policies on a fee-for-service basis. 
Moda Health Plan, Inc. is an Oregon-domiciled 
health care service contractor that provides medical 
plans in Oregon and Alaska. 

The timeline to review the acquisition lasts 
approximately six months. After the initial review 
was completed, the division held a public hearing in 
Portland on Oct. 29, and opened the public comment 
period through Nov. 12. 

The division is now reviewing the application and 
all public comments to make a decision to either 
approve or deny the transaction. 

Once a decision is made, the division will issue a 
public order that outlines the final approval or 
denial of the transaction. 

The division’s primary goal throughout this process 
is to ensure Oregon consumers are protected and 
that the partnership does not disrupt Moda’s current 
customers.

To learn more about the transaction visit the Moda/
Delta Dental merger page on our website. ◆

Moda Health Plan, Inc. 
and Delta Dental of 
California announce 

strategic partnership

https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/reg/insurer/mergers/Pages/modahealth-deltadental.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/reg/insurer/mergers/Pages/modahealth-deltadental.aspx
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Last year, the division completed a data call to 
better understand the current earthquake insurance 
market in Oregon. The data call included the top 15 
homeowner insurance groups in the state, and two 
insurers that specialize in earthquake risk.

According to the data, approximately 15 percent of 
Oregonians with residential homeowner coverage 
also have earthquake coverage. 

The percentage of earthquake coverage varies by 
region. The Willamette Valley had the highest at 
17 percent of homes, followed by the Coast at 13 
percent, the Coastal Range at 9.5 percent, and Eastern 
Oregon at 6 percent.

Oregon’s percent of homes with earthquake 
coverage is comparable with its western neighbors. 
Washington, where the majority of insurers provide 
coverage by endorsement like Oregon, reports 11 
percent of residential policy holders with earthquake 
coverage. California, where the majority of policies 
are handled by the California Earthquake Authority, 
reports 15 percent.

Earthquake coverage is widely available across 
Oregon, with multiple insurance groups writing 
earthquake policies in every county. The top five 

insurance groups combined have about 79 percent of 
the earthquake insurance market. 

Insurers reported a variety of methods to underwrite 
earthquake risk. The majority of policies consider the 
date the home was built, the type of construction, the 
number of stories, the slope and soil type of the land, 
whether the home is bolted onto the foundation, and 
the existence of unrepaired damage due to a past 
earthquake.

The amount of the deductible was a significant factor 
in the cost of earthquake coverage. Insurers offered 
deductibles as low as 2.5 percent to as high as 25 
percent. Insurers reported that 10 percent was the 
most common deductible chosen by policy holders.

The division also asked insurers what the yearly 
premium would be for a hypothetical home in 
Multnomah County. The cost varied depending on a 
number of factors. A policy with $420,000 in dwelling 
and $210,000 in contents coverage, ranged from $126 
to $1,043 per year with a 10 percent deductible.

The entire report is available at,  
dfr.oregon.gov/business/reg/reports-data/
Documents/2017-DFR-earthquake-datacall.pdf. ◆

Earthquake Insurance Coverage 
in Oregon 

https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/reg/reports-data/Documents/2017-DFR-earthquake-datacall.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/reg/reports-data/Documents/2017-DFR-earthquake-datacall.pdf


7Oregon Division of Financial Regulation  Common Ground, Fall 2018

Gov. Kate Brown recently proclaimed Oct. 15-19, as 
Oregon Community Bank Week. The week honored 
local banks and their employees for their economic 
and civic contributions in communities across the 
state.

Oregon’s community banks, most of which are 
chartered by the Department of Consumer and 
Business Services, play an essential role in promoting 
the economic health and prosperity of the state. In 
some communities, they are the sole provider of 
banking products and services and sometimes the 
largest employer.

Community banks provide $400 million in 
agriculture-related loans, $5.9 billion in small-
business loans, and employ 5,400 people statewide. 

“Our state banks take a relationship-based approach 
to doing business by providing banking services, 
creating jobs, and educating customers and students 
about a variety of financial matters,” said Cameron 
Smith, DCBS director. “They actively participate in 
every corner of the state and are a major financing 
source for our small businesses and farms.”

State-chartered banks throughout Oregon celebrated 
Community Bank Week in their local neighborhoods. 
Many of them hosted consumers, students, small 
businesses, and local elected officials to showcase the 
positive effect banks have on the people they serve.

To learn more about the Oregon banks recognized 
during Community Bank Week, go to oregonbankers.
com/community-bank-week.html.

Oregon Community Bank Week 
recognized a vital member of 

communities statewide

http://www.oregonbankers.com/community-bank-week.html
http://www.oregonbankers.com/community-bank-week.html
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The Division of Financial Regulation issued a cease-
and-desist order against Helen Kyung Lee and Joany 
Inc., also known as Impact Health Inc., for forging 
consumers’ signatures on insurance documents, 
which violates the Oregon insurance code. The 
division is pursuing fines and seeking to revoke the 
licenses of Lee and Joany Inc. 

Lee and Impact Health Inc. offered consumers a $50 
gift card for filling out an insurance survey through 
either Facebook or Craigslist. The survey required 
consumers to provide a copy of their health care 
identification card with a valid effective date and 
member number. Lee, or representatives of Impact 
Health Inc., then forged consumers’ signatures on 
a form that identifies the consumers’ insurance 
agent, also known as an agent of record form. This 
allowed Lee to receive commissions from insurance 
companies without the consumers’ consent or 
knowledge.

Approximately 1,600 Oregonians completed the 
survey in 2017, and more than 900 agent of record 
forms were filed as a result. The division has 
attempted to contact several consumers who filled 
out the survey. At least 12 have confirmed that their 
signatures were forged, and that they did not ask Lee 
nor Impact Health Inc. to be their agent.  

“The division takes attempts to deceive both 
consumers and companies that serve Oregonians very 
serious,” said Andrew Stolfi, insurance commissioner. 

“We encourage everyone to be on alert for attempts 
like this to dupe consumers and businesses for 
financial gain, and to contact our consumer advocates 
if you believe you have been harmed.”

The division urges anyone that filled out a survey 
from Impact Health Inc. to do two things:  

1.	 Contact your insurance company to confirm it 
has the correct agent on file for you. If you filled 
out the survey, but do not have an agent, confirm 
that your insurance company does not have one 
listed for you. 

2.	 Oregonians who learn that the agent of record 
is not correct, contact the division’s consumer 
advocates at 888-877-4894 (toll-free) to report it. 

This was a multi-state scheme. If you live outside 
Oregon and filled out a survey from Impact Health 
contact your state’s insurance department to report it. 

The division believes similar efforts exist to obtain 
consumers’ personal information. Be mindful of these 
schemes, and avoid them with these steps: 

•	 Be suspicious of offers to receive gift cards or 
similar prizes for providing personal information. 
If it seems too easy to earn a prize, it is probably a 
trick.  

•	 Do not give out your personal information by 
phone, email, or text. Government agencies, 
insurance companies, banks, and credit unions 
typically do not ask for this information 
unprompted.  

To learn more about protecting yourself and your 
finances visit, dfr.oregon.gov. Oregonians who have 
questions, concerns, or problems with an insurance 
or financial services company, agent, or broker can 
contact a consumer advocate at 888-877-4894 (toll 
free). ◆

Beware of health insurance surveys 
offering gifts for personal information

https://eapps.naic.org/cis/fileComplaintMap.do
https://dfr.oregon.gov/Pages/index.aspx
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The Division of Financial Regulation is warning 
investors of risks associated with promissory notes.

Promissory notes are a written promise to pay a 
specified sum of money at a stated time. The notes 
are similar to a loan and generally pay interest. 
Companies sell the notes to raise capital and typically 
offer them to institutional and retail investors.  

The North American Securities Administrators 
Association has identified promissory notes as a 
leading source of complaints among its member 
agencies. Last year, 210 note investigations and 149 
enforcement actions were taken by state regulators.  

In Oregon, five investigations and five enforcement 
actions were taken by the division last year.

A recent example is the division’s cease-and-desist 
order against Woodbridge Mortgage Investment. 
Woodbridge raised money from approximately 70 
Oregonians for an investment program that was 
not registered with the division, nor licensed to sell 
investments. Funds were used to purchase real estate, 
and investors were provided promissory notes in 
exchange. Woodbridge did not record mortgages 
then, last December, stopped making interest 
payments and filed for bankruptcy. The SEC filed 
a lawsuit alleging a $1.2 billion Ponzi scheme and 
several other states have taken similar action against 
Woodbridge.

Short-term promissory notes, such as Woodbridge, 
are the most common type of fraudulent notes. The 
division is warning investors to be cautious about 
short-term promissory notes for two reasons. First, 
the notes entice investors because it appears that their 
money will not be tied up for long. Second, some 
short-term notes may not be covered by federal or 
state securities laws. 

Investors should 
be cautious about 
promissory notes 
with durations of 
nine months or less, 
because they may 
not require federal 
or state securities 
registration. These 
notes have been 
the source of most 
of the fraudulent activity seen by state securities 
regulators. 

Protect yourself by using the following tips before 
investing in a promissory note: 

1.	 Call the division’s consumer advocacy team at 
888-877-4894 (toll-free) to confirm that the notes 
are registered or legally exempt from registration. 

2.	 Research the company. Understand how it will 
pay principal and interest on the note, as well as 
the costs to promote it, and find out the seller 
commissions. 

3.	 Be suspicious of notes offering a high guaranteed 
rate of return.

4.	 If repayment is secured by an interest in real 
estate, confirm with a third party that a mortgage 
or trust deed is recorded on the property, and that 
no other liens exist. 

Essentially, promissory notes encourage many types 
of investment scams. A written guarantee is not proof 
of a note’s legitimacy. Before making any financial 
decisions, ask questions, do your homework, and 
contact our advocates at 888-877-4894 (toll-free) with 
questions about the product or person selling it. 

Learn more at dfr.oregon.gov. ◆

Investor Advisory Notice:  
Promissory Notes

http://www.dfr.oregon.gov/
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DFR 2018-7: Regulation of association 
health plans in Oregon 
The Oregon Division of Financial Regulation has 
received numerous inquiries about its guidance con-
cerning associations and Multiple Employer Welfare 
Arrangements (MEWA). The bulletin summarizes 
and clarifies guidance for issuers, associations, 
MEWAs, insurance agents, and producers in light of 
the recent United States Department of Labor final 
regulation titled “Definition of Employer Under Sec-
tion 3(5) of ERISA-Association Health Plans” (AHP 
rule). 

The AHP rule does not pre-empt the Oregon insur-
ance code, which limits the types of associations and 
MEWAs that may purchase or issue a health benefit 
plan in Oregon. Associations, whether established in 
Oregon or another state, are subject to the same statu-
tory and regulatory requirements as any other group 
or association of employers that may offer health 
benefit plan coverage in Oregon. 

The division will continue to enforce all Oregon laws 
applicable to health benefit plans issued by or to a 
group or association of employers as they existed 
before the issuance of the AHP rule without modifi-
cation.

Review the entire bulletin for a summary of AHP 
requirements. 

DFR 2018-8: Implementation of 
hearing aid and hearing assistive 
technology legislation
This bulletin clarifies the division’s expectations 
regarding health insurers’ obligations under House Bill 
4104 (2018), effective Jan. 1, 2019. The bill amended 
statutes ORS 743 A.140 and ORS 743A.141 to require:

•	 Health benefit plans to cover bilateral cochlear 
implants regardless of whether they would 

otherwise cover (single) cochlear implants. ORS 
743 A.140

•	 Coverage of programming, reprogramming, 
and repair and replacement parts for cochlear 
implants. ORS 743A.140

•	 Coverage of ear molds and replacement ear 
molds, batteries, necessary diagnostic treatment 
services, bone conduction sound processors, 
and hearing assistive technology systems. ORS 
743A.141

•	 The coverage limit on “hearing aids” (including 
bone conduction sound processors and hearing 
assistive technology systems) was amended to 
require coverage once every 36 months without a 
dollar limit. ORS 743A.141

•	 Health benefit plans are also required to 
provide new notices of coverage limitations and 
educational materials related to hearing loss to 
enrollees and their parents or legal guardians.

For more information, review the entire bulletin

Quarterly rate filing deadlines for 
small-group health benefit plans. 
All issuers selling small-group health benefit plans 
should refer to the table below regarding quarterly 
rate filing for small-group health benefit plans. 

For more information visit, Oregonhealthrates.org. 

For more information visit, Oregonhealthrates.org. 
If you have any questions regarding this information, 
contact Tashia Sizemore at, Tashia.Sizemore@oregon.
gov. ◆

440-5360 (11/18/COM)

https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Documents/Bulletins/bulletin2018-07.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Documents/Bulletins/bulletin2018-07.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/laws-rules/Documents/Bulletins/bulletin2018-08.pdf
https://dfr.oregon.gov/healthrates/pages/index.aspx
mailto:Tashia.Sizemore@oregon.gov
mailto:Tashia.Sizemore@oregon.gov

