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Long-Term Care
Partnership Disclosure Notice:

Group Certificate

Insurer name:

Insurer address:

Certificate holder name:

Certificate number/identifier:

Effective date:

Important information about your long-term care insurance certificate
You may be entitled to special asset protection as part of the new Oregon Long-Term Care Partnership Program.
Please read below for more details and keep this notice with your long-term care insurance certificate.

The long-term care insurance certificate that you recently purchased qualifies for the Oregon Long-Term Care Insurance
Partnership Program. This program is the result of a partnership among the Oregon Department of Human Services (DHS),
the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS), and private long-term care insurers that voluntarily
agreed to participate in the program. As a qualified partnership certificate (QPC), your certificate may be entitled to special
asset protection under Oregon’s Medicaid program.

What is a QPC?

Even after receiving long-term care (LTC) insurance payments, some people have to apply for Medicaid. As a purchaser of
a QPC, you may qualify for Medicaid and keep more assets than other Medicaid clients. Assets include money in the bank,
investments, and real property. Generally, people qualify for Medicaid when they have assets of $2,000 or less. A QPC
allows you to keep assets equal to the amount of LTC insurance benefits you received. Also, a QPC protects your
inheritance in the same amount. For example, if your QPC paid $50,000 for your LTC before you applied for Medicaid,
you would get to keep both $2,000 and $50,000 and still be eligible for Medicaid. Medicaid would collect $50,000 less
from your estate, if that amount is still in your estate when you die.

A QPC does not automatically make you eligible for Medicaid. All other Medicaid criteria will still apply, including home
equity limits that may make you ineligible for Medicaid. Contact DHS if you have Medicaid eligibility questions.

Does the QPC status of a certificate ever change?

A QPC is required to meet certain state and federal requirements. If you decide to purchase a certificate and then make
changes later, confirm with your insurance agent that the changes will not affect the QPC status. If you move out of
Oregon, a QPC may protect assets for Medicaid in another state, but only if that state recognizes your certificate as a
partnership certificate under its federally approved partnership program.

NOTE: The information contained in this disclosure is based on current Oregon and federal laws. These laws may change.
Any change in law could reduce or eliminate the beneficial treatment of your certificate under Oregon’s Medicaid
program.

Additional Information?
If you have questions regarding your insurance certificate, please contact

insurer name

If you have questions regarding current laws governing Medicaid eligibility, you should contact the Oregon Department of
Human Services.

Is

Q %E(P)ARTMENT @)

440-4773 (11/07/CO

<

/WEB)



