
Illegal Payday and Title Loans

for a $300 loan?

Would you pay
$1,000

Make sure your payday or title 
lender is licensed in Oregon

Make sure your payday or title lender  

is licensed in Oregon

Call 866-814-9710 (toll-free)

or go online 

stopunlicensedloans.com

Tribal lenders
Some payday or title lenders, many operating 
online, may be affiliated with federally recognized 
Indian tribes. They are not bound by Oregon 
payday and title lending laws, including the limits 
on fees and interest rates. 

Do the math
The chart below shows a typical loan from a 
licensed payday and title lender. If your loan cost 
is higher, the lender is probably unlicensed.

Note: Under Oregon law, a payday or title loan must 
be for a minimum of 31 days.      		

Need to borrow money?
Consider these options:

•	 Ask if you can delay or make payments on 
non-interest bills such as cellphone  
or utility bills.

•	 Borrow money from family or friends.

•	 Ask your credit union or bank for a loan.

•	 Make a budget and stick with it. 

•	 Save some money for unexpected expenses, 
even if it is only $5 a month. 

Loan 
Amount

Origination 
Fee + Interest

Total Loan 
Cost

$100 $13.06 $113.06
$200 $26.12 $226.12
$300 $39.17 $339.17

440-4972 (3/15/COM)

Division of Finance & 
Corporate Securities

http://stopunlicensedloans.com


Only a handful of online payday 
and title lenders are licensed in 
Oregon. An unlicensed online 

payday lender may charge extremely 
high fees and interest rates.

File a complaint

It is easier to resolve problems with an Oregon-
licensed payday or title lender than an illegal one. 
To file a complaint, call the Division of Finance and 
Corporate Securities at 866-814-9710 (toll-free) or go 
to stopunlicensedloans.com. 

Spot unlicensed payday lenders

Some warning signs include:

•	 Charging more than a 10 percent one-time 
origination fee (maximum $30), or charging other 
fees on the same loan.

•	 Offering a loan for less than 31 days. 

•	 Offering to renew the same loan more than twice. 

•	 Charging more than 153.77 percent annual 
percentage rate (APR).

Important reminder
Do not send a vehicle title to a lender unless you 
have verified with us that the lender is licensed  
in Oregon.

Oregon law protects against 
unlicensed payday and title lenders
It happens. You need a quick loan. There are 
thousands of payday and title lenders offering loans 
– including online lenders – but they may charge 
excessive fees and interest rates. STOP. Check the 
facts before you apply or agree to a loan.

•	 All lenders, including those online, must be 
licensed by the State of Oregon to offer payday 
or title loans to Oregonians. Call 866-814-9710 
(toll-free) or go to stopunlicensedloans.com to 
look up licensed payday and title lenders.

•	 In Oregon, a payday or title loan must be for at 
least 31 days and not longer than 60 days. 

•	 The legal limits on what can be charged are:

–– A one-time 10 percent loan origination 
fee, up to a maximum $30, for a new loan. 

–– 36 percent interest.*

–– Only two renewals, or “roll overs,” on an 
existing loan. (After two renewals, you must 
pay the loan amount and interest in full.)

Beware of payday and 
title lenders that:
•	 Require your personal bank account infor-

mation or your Social Security number just to 
see their fees, interest rates, or what your loan 
payments may be. Do not authorize electronic 
withdrawals until you read and agree to the 
loan agreement.

•	 Require upfront fees before getting a loan  
and request the payment with a prepaid  
card, debit or credit card, wire transfer, or  
money order. 

•	 Do not explain the fees or interest rates.

•	 Do not provide a written loan agreement for 
you to read, agree to, and sign.

•	 Require you to release the payday or title 
lender from any liability; waive your rights for 
legal action, including arbitration; or authorize 
the lender to garnish your wages (“wage 
assignment”).

•	 Are unwilling to give you their physical address.

•	 Do not provide a copy of the agreement for 
your records.

Note: Payday and title lenders must give 

you a written loan agreement clearly 

explaining the fees, percentage rate, 

payment due dates, and what happens 

if you are late with your payments or you 

default.  

*The annual percentage rate (APR) – the total of all interest and 
fees calculated on an annual basis – will be 153.77 percent if 
the lender charges the maximum interest rate (36 percent) and 
the maximum origination fees allowed.
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