836-200-XXX0
Purpose and Statutory Authority

The purpose of OAR 836-200-XXX0 to 836-200-XXX7 is to administer the licensure of
Pharmaceutical Sales Representatives doing business in the state of Oregon pursuant
to 2021 Or Laws ch 593

836-200-XXX1
Definitions

For the purposes of 836-200-XXXO0 to 836-200-XXX7 the following definitions apply,
unless the context requires otherwise:

(1) The “Department” means the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business
Services.

(3) “Pharmaceutical product” means a medication approved for human use by the
federal Food and Drug Administration that may be legally dispensed only with a valid
prescription from a health care provider.

(4) “Pharmaceutical representative” means a person that markets or promotes
pharmaceutical products to health care providers.

(5) “License” means a license issued to a pharmaceutical representative by the
Department pursuant to OAR 836-200-XXX0 to 836-200-XXX7.

(6) “Licensee” means a person that holds a valid and unexpired license issued under
this section.

(7) “Calendar year” means each successive period of twelve (12) calendar months
commencing on January 1 and ending on December 31.

(8) “Material change in a licensee’s business operations” means any change in the
following information:

(a) A change in the business activity in which the licensee engages;

(b) Termination for cause from any employer or company that the licensee
represents;

(c) Any complaints made to the licensee, the licensee’s employer, or a company

that the licensee represents regarding the licensee’s activities conducted under a
license issued under these rules.

836-200-XXX2



License Required

(1) A pharmaceutical representative who does business with health care professionals
while both are within the State of Oregon must acquire a license from the department
prior to doing business in the State on fifteen or more days in a calendar year.

(2) A license issued pursuant to these rules is valid until the end of the calendar year in
which the license issued.

(3) A license issued pursuant to these rules is not transferable.

(4) A pharmaceutical representative must show their license or an exact copy of it when
a health care provider asks to see it. An exact copy may include a legible reproduction,
such as a photocopy or an image saved or produced on an electronic device.

836-200-XXX3
License Application and Renewal Application

(1) An applicant for a license to engage in business as a pharmaceutical representative
must submit the following information in a form and manner specified by the
department:

(a) The applicant’s full name, social security number, email address, residence
address, personal telephone number, business address, and business telephone
number;

(b) A description of the business activities in which the applicant will engage;

(c) Documentation that shows the applicant has completed at least ten hours of
professional education as described in OAR 836-200-XXX4(1);

(d) The application for licensure must be accompanied by a license fee of $750.

(2) A pharmaceutical representative may apply for a license renewal if they held a valid
and unrevoked license through the end of the preceding calendar year. An applicant for
renewal must submit the following information on a form specified by the department at
least 30 days before their license expires:

(a) The applicant’s full name, social security number, email address, residence
address, personal telephone number, business address, and business telephone
number;

(b) A description of the business activities in which the applicant will engage;

(c) Documentation that shows the applicant has completed the professional
education course described in OAR 836-200-XXX4(2);
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(d) The application for licensure must be accompanied by a license fee of $750.

(3) An incomplete application for initial licensure or an application for license renewal
under these rules will be considered abandoned if not completed within thirty days of
opening the application process.

(4) The $750 application fee is not refundable.

(5) The director may collect Social Security numbers submitted in applications under
this rule and may use a Social Security number of an individual when authorized to do
so for the purposes specified in this section. In addition to the governmental uses for
which a Social Security number is required in an application under federal and state
law, when authorized by the holder of a Social Security number, the director may use a
Social Security number for any of the following purposes:

(a) As an identification number in maintaining records and reporting grades or
examination scores;

(b) For licensing purposes; and
(c) For use by other government agencies to carry out their statutory duties.

(6) An applicant may voluntarily allow the director to use the Social Security number of
the applicant, as the director may request in the application form, for the purposes
specified in section (6) of this rule. Refusal to voluntarily allow such use of the Social
Security number will not result in the denial of any individual right, benefit or privilege
provided by law. The use authorized by an applicant is in addition to uses authorized by
state and federal law for which collection of Social Security numbers is mandatory.

836-200-XXX4
Education and Continuing Education Requirements

(1) Education requirements for initial licensure in 2022:

(a) Applicants for initial licensure must certify that they plan to complete at least
15 hours of education prior to applying for licensure renewal.

(2) Qualified education for the purpose of licensure or license renewal in 2022:

(a) The department will accept as qualified education any credit hours earned in
education programs approved for pharmaceutical sales representatives seeking
licensure or license renewal by another United States jurisdiction, except as
otherwise provided in this rule.
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(b) Credit hours must be provided by entities registered as education providers
with the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).

(c) The department will not accept any credits for continuing education programs
provided by a licensee’s employer.

(3) A license issued under these rules in 2022 shall be considered a provisional license
with renewal conditioned upon the completion of at least 15 hours of education,
consisting of 10 hours of pre-licensure education and 5 hours of continuing education as
described in subsection 4 of this rule.
(4) Education requirement for license renewal:
(a) In order to renew a pharmaceutical representative license, applicants must
complete five hours of continuing professional education. By applying for
renewal, an applicant is affirming that they have completed five hours of
continuing education during the preceding twelve months. The continuing
education must be approved by the Department under OAR 836-200-XXX5 to
OAR 836-200-XX11. Continuing education coursework under this section must
be in one or more of the following subject areas:
(A) General medical and pharmaceutical terminology and abbreviations;

(B) Food and Drug Administration laws and regulations pertaining to drug
marketing, labeling, and clinical trials;

(C) The comparative cost effectiveness of pharmaceutical products;
(D) Therapeutic drug classes and categories;

(E) Professional ethics;

(F) Properties and actions of drugs and drug delivery mechanisms;
(G) Etiologies, characteristics, and therapeutics of disease states;
(H) Pharmacology;

() The anatomical and physiological effect of pharmaceuticals;

(J) The comparative effectiveness of pharmaceutical products;

(K) How to read and analyze peer-reviewed literature on pharmaceutical
products; or

(L) Safe prescribing practices to prevent abuse.
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836-200-XX13
Prohibited conduct for licensees

A licensee may not:

(1) Engage in any deceptive or misleading marketing of a pharmaceutical product,
including knowingly concealing, suppressing, omitting, misrepresenting, or misstating
material facts concerning or related to a pharmaceutical product;

(2) Use atitle or designation that could reasonably lead a health care provider or an
employee of a health care provider to believe that the licensee is a health care provider
if the licensee is not licensed as a health care provider or otherwise authorized to
provide health care services; or

(3) Attend an examination of a patient without the patient’s consent.

(4) Make or file, or cause to be made or filed, to or with the Director of the Department
of Consumer and Business Services, any statement, report or document which is known
to be false in any material respect or matter.

836-200-XX14
Civil penalties and license revocation

(1) The department may revoke a license, suspend a license, or impose civil penalties
on licensees for violations of 2021 Or Laws ch 593 and OAR 836-200-XXX0 to 836-200-
XX13, including but not limited to the following violations:

(a) Engaging in any of the prohibited conduct described in OAR 836-200-XX13.
(b) Failure to timely report any of the information described OAR 836-200-XX12
(c) Engaging in business as a pharmaceutical representative in the state of

Oregon for fifteen or more days without first obtaining a license from the
department.
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