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Federal identification number:       
Name of proposed legal expense organization:       
Street address:       
City:       State:       ZIP:       
Principal address:       
Mailing address:       
Contact person:                     
 Last name First name Middle name 

Phone: (     )      -      Fax: (     )      -      
E-mail:       
President, senior partner, or senior official:       
The applicant is the following type of entity (check only one): 

 individual  partnership  corporation  other 
 
To the Oregon Insurance Commissioner, Salem, Oregon: 

The applicant hereby applies for a Certificate of Registration pursuant to ORS 750.505 to 750.715, authorizing the legal 
expense organization to operate in Oregon until its certificate expires or is suspended, revoked, or not renewed by the 
Oregon Insurance Commissioner. 

 

Name of applicant:       
 Name of person, company, corporation, partnership, or other entity 

The applicant agrees to the following: 

1. The applicant shall not act as a legal expense organization without a written agreement between each plan and 
provider and a written agreement between each plan and member. 

2. Each such agreement shall be retained as part of the official records of the organization for the duration of the 
agreements and five years thereafter. 

3. Each such written agreement shall comply with the requirements of ORS 750.505 to 750.715. 

4. Whenever a member uses the services of the legal expense organization under the terms of a written agreement 
between the plan and the member, the payment to the provider of any amount owed by or on behalf of the 
member by the legal expense plan shall be deemed payment to that provider when received. 

 

Application for Certificate 
of Registration for Legal 
Expense Organization 

Remit with payment to: 
Fiscal Services Section 
Oregon Department of Consumer 
& Business Services 
P.O. Box 14610 
Salem, OR 97309-0445 

Filing fee: $350 
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Applicant must answer yes or no to the questions below. Give full explanation of all yes answers on an attached sheet. 

1. Has the applicant or any of its directors, officers, or partners: 

 (a) Had a previous application for registration as a legal expense organization denied within the past five years? 

   Yes      No 

 (b) Had any professional, vocational, or business license denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted by any public 
authority in this or any other state? 

   Yes      No 

 (c) Been subjected to a civil penalty or a fine for activities under any professional, vocational,  
or business license? 

   Yes      No 

 (d) Withdrawn or surrendered any professional, vocational, or business license in order to  
avoid disciplinary action? 

   Yes      No 

 (e) Had any judgement rendered against it in any court of any jurisdiction of the United States for its activities 
relating to the transaction of business as a legal expense organization? 

   Yes      No 

 (f) Been declared insolvent or discharged from bankruptcy within the past five years? 

   Yes      No 

2. Have any of the applicant’s officers or directors been convicted in a criminal proceeding (excluding minor traffic 
violations) within the past 10 years? 

   Yes      No 

   
 I certify that all statements and information in this registration are true and correct and that I have the 

authority to execute and file this application for registration for the legal expense organization. I take notice 
of the prohibition under ORS 731.260 against false or misleading filings with the Insurance Commissioner. 

 

   
      

 

 Signature of authorized person for applicant  Date of signature  

     

 Subscribed and sworn to before me this       day of        , 20       .  

      

      

      

      

  Notary public in and for the state of:        

  My appointment expires:        

     

Notary seal    
 


	Filing fee: $350

