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CHECK-CASHING  BUSINeSS – Initial  License  application
This application is to be used to apply for an initial license to act as a check-cashing business in Oregon. If you are currently licensed and need to obtain a license for a new location, use the Additional Location Application. If you need to make an amendment to your company information, use the Amendment Application.

Check cashing licensing requirement:
Unless the location is determined exempt as provided in ORS 697.502 and OAR 441-755-0110, a person may not conduct, purport to conduct, or advertise that a location conducts a check cashing business. NOTE: The check-cashing licensing requirements do not apply to a money transmitter operating with a valid Oregon license. The limits on fees, fee posting requirements, recordkeeping, and other requirements of the law do apply to licensed money transmitters.

General information max fees and receipt requirement
Fees allowed to be charged by ORS 697.520: 
· Up to 2 percent of the check’s face value for a government check, such as a tax return check or a payroll check issued by a federal, state, city, or county agency, if consumer presents a valid and current photo ID.
· Up to 3 percent of the value of the payment instrument, or $5, whichever is higher, when the check was issued by a government entity other than a government entity within the state of Oregon, if the consumer presents a valid and current photo ID.
· Up to 10 percent for other types of checks, including insurance checks, money orders, or personal checks, or $5, which ever is more.
· No licensed check casher can charge more than $100 to cash a check.
· Under Oregon law, all licensees must post their license and their fees in plain view of customers.
Refer to page 6 of the application for a complete list of Oregon’s maximum fees.

Receipt content 
A licensed check cashing business must provide customer a receipt with the following information for each payment instrument cashed:

· 
· Name of the check cashing business
· Date of the transaction
· Face value of the check
· Fee charged

An application will be deemed abandoned if the applicant fails to provide requested information within 30 days of a warning that the application is about to be deemed abandoned. Fees paid in connection with an abandoned application are not refundable. (OAR 441-755-0120)
Renewal two-year: The renewal fee is currently $300. Once the license is renewed, it will be valid for two calendar years. As a courtesy, a renewal notice will be mailed approximately four weeks before the date of renewal.
Annual report – due April 1: An annual report is required to be completed by April 1 each year. The report requires disclosure of the number of checks cashed, the dollar amount of the checks cashed, and the total amount of fees collected for the prior calendar year. You may obtain the annual report form on the website: www.dfr.oregon.gov. It is your responsibility to submit the required annual report. You may be fined or have your licensed revoked if you fail to comply.
Questions? Call 503-378-4140
More information: https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/licensing/financial/Pages/check-cashing-bussiness.aspxPage 1 of 5
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CHECK-CASHING  BUSINeSS – Initial  License  application

Please respond to all questions. Answer N/A if the answer is “none” or “not applicable.”
	Business name of applicant:      

	Assumed business names:      

	Taxpayer identification number (EIN or TIN):      

	Website address, if applicable:      

	Business organization: |_| Corporation   |_| Partnership   |_| Sole proprietorship   |_| LLC   |_| Other:      

	Date of formation:      

	Physical address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Mailing address, if different:      

	City:       
	State:       
	Zip:       

	[bookmark: Text2]Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      



Application and investigation fee calculation
	Application fee of $300 per location to be licensed = $300 x       (number of locations)
	$      

	Investigation fee is $150. If the applicant has a current Oregon consumer finance, pay/title, or pawnbroker license, it is reduced to $75. For discount, provide licensing information below:
	$      

	License type:   |_| Consumer finance       |_| Payday/title          |_| Pawnbroker 
License or NMLS no.:      
	

	Total of fees
	$      


Application continued on next page
	
Secure fax for credit card payments: 503-947-2333
If paying by credit card, applicant must sign credit card information box.
	Make check or money order payable to Department of Consumer & Business Services. Do not send cash.
Mail application with payment to:
DCBS - Fiscal Services
P.O. Box 14610
Salem, OR 97309-0445

	
	

	|_| Visa
	|_| MasterCard
	|_| Discover
	[bookmark: Text34][bookmark: Text35]Phone:    -   -    
	
	PCA code: 12104/0600    93090/1001      93090/1004

	     
	
	     
	
	Fiscal use only:

	Cardholder signature
	
	Expiration date
	
	

	     
	
	(1001) License fee(s): 	$      
	
	

	Name of cardholder as shown on credit card
	
	(1004) Investigation fee(s):	$      
	
	

	
	
	Total amount:	$      
	
	

	Credit card number
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	Additional locations to be licensed - Complete this section for any additional locations that need to be licensed in Oregon. If there are none, skip this section.

	Physical address for first additional place of business:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Mailing address, if different:      

	City:       
	State:       
	Zip:       

	Assumed business names:      

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      

	  Branch manager’s name:      

	

	Physical address for second additional place of business:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Mailing address, if different:      

	City:       
	State:       
	Zip:       

	Assumed business names:      

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      

	  Branch manager’s name:      


Please attach a separate sheet of paper, if needed, to provide this information for more locations. 

	Contact information for company

	Person responsible for submitting annual report:      

	Title:      

	Mailing address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      

	

	Person responsible for consumer complaints:      

	Title:      

	Mailing address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      

	

	Person responsible for licensing:      

	Title:      

	Mailing address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      


Application continued on next page Page 3 of 5

[image: ]
440-4771 (7/22/COM)
. 
	Oregon agent for service of process:      

	Title:      

	Mailing address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      

	

	Person responsible for examinations:      

	Title:      

	Mailing address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Phone:    -   -    
	Fax:    -   -    
	Email address:      




	Corporate owner - Complete this section if the application is owned in whole or part by another company.

	Company name:      

	  Physical address:      

	City:       
	State:       
	ZIP:       

	Percent of ownership:       


Please attach a separate sheet of paper if needed to provide this information for additional corporate owner.
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	Attach and submit the following information

	|_| 
	A copy of your business name registration with the Oregon Office of the Secretary of State, Business Registry Section (503-986-2200). All business names used in Oregon must be registered with the Secretary of State

	|_| 
	A business plan for your current business that describes the type of products and services you will be offering. Common examples: money wiring, groceries, prepay phones, clothing, deli food, etc.

	|_| 
	A complete statement of your current financial condition, including most recent balance sheet and profit-and-loss statement. If this is a newly formed business, you may provide a written explanation of the source of funds that will be used for check cashing activity and the past three months of bank statements instead of a balance sheet and profit-and-loss statement.

	|_| 
	A copy of your proposed fees to be charged for cashing payment instruments. If these fees vary by location on this application, provide the information specific to each location.

	|_| 
	Complete the attached form, Criminal Background and Credit Check Authorization, for each of the following: president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, and directors of a corporation, partners, member or persons with equivalent titles or duties. Also, include any person who has the direct or indirect ownership or right to control 25 percent or more of the voting shares of the corporation, or the ability to change the principles, policies, or practices of the organization. See Page 5.

	|_| 
	Provide a work history resume of the past five years of work experience for each owner, partner, director, and principal.
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Criminal  background  and  credit  check  authorization
Check casher license application requirements - The following must be completed by the president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, and directors of a corporation, partners, member, or persons with equivalent titles or duties, as well as any person who has the direct or indirect ownership or right to control 25 percent or more of the voting shares of the corporation, or the ability to change the principles, policies, or practices of the organization: 
	First name:       
	Middle name:      
	Last name:      

	Name of company:      
	Position or title:      

	Social Security number:       -       -      
	Driver license number and state:      

	[bookmark: Text21]Date of birth (mm/dd/yy):    /    /   
	Percentage of ownership:       %

	Home address:      
	Office street address:      

	City:      
	State:   
	ZIP:      
	City:      
	State:   
	ZIP:      

	Home mailing address, if different:      
	Office mailing address, if different:      

	City:      
	State:   
	ZIP:      
	City:       
	State:   
	ZIP:      

	Home or cell phone number:       
	Office phone number:      

	Email:      

	ATTACH A RESUME OF THE LAST FIVE YEARS OF WORK EXPERIENCE

	Have you been convicted of a felony?
[bookmark: Check14][bookmark: Check13]	|_| No	|_| Yes, explain:
	     

	Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor
for fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit?
	|_| No	|_| Yes, explain:
	     

	Have you been the subject of an administrative
action in any state that resulted in civil penalties
or action taken against a license you held?
	|_| No	|_| Yes, explain:
	     

	Have you had any entry of any money
judgments that are not paid in full?  
	|_| No	|_| Yes, explain:
	     

	Have you filed for voluntary or involuntary
bankruptcy protection?
	|_| No	|_| Yes, explain:
	     


I certify that the information provided is current and accurate as of the day it was signed and I understand that my signature authorizes an investigative consumer report as defined in the Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 USC 1681 et seq.).
	
	
	     


                                            Signature	Date
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Maximum Fees
See ORS 697.520

	Type of payment instrument
	With valid and current government issued photo identification
	Without valid and current government issued photo identification

	· Issued by the federal government or one of its agencies
· Issued by the State of Oregon or one of its agencies
· Issued by the municipality in which the person is cashing the payment instrument
	2 percent of the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more. 
Maximum charge: $100

	2.5 percent of the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more.
Maximum charge: $100


	· Issued by any other state or political subdivision
· Payroll check
	3 percent of the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more.
Maximum charge: $100
	3.5 percent of the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more.
Maximum charge: $100

	· Personal checks
· Money orders 
· Any other type of payment instrument
	10 percent or the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more.
Maximum charge: $100

	10 percent or the face value of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is more.
Maximum charge: $100
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