Producer licensing

Key information

  • Course providers must renew their registration every two years. SBS sends provider renewal notices.
  • Courses expire two years from the month of approval. No renewal reminders are mailed to providers for courses.
  • All course registration requests must be received 10 days before the course date to be eligible for review, and 60 days before the course date to ensure approval before that course date.
  • All course times, dates, and locations must be submitted through SBS 10 days before the course.
  • Course topics must fall within the guidelines of OAR 836-071-0230. Sales and marketing classes are not eligible for credit.
  • Each lecture hour of continuing education credit must have a minimum of 50 minutes of instruction. We do not approve "half" increments, such as 5.5 hours.
  • Certificates are not longer submitted to the Division. Continuing education providers enter credits directly into your record.
  • Agency management courses are limited to a maximum of four hours per renewal period. These courses must have some consumer benefit and be unique to the insurance industry.
  • Law courses must provide information relating to Oregon legislation, laws, rules, or case law. General law and federal law do not qualify for Oregon law credit.

New continuing education providers

Complete an application through State Based Systems to provide continuing education courses in Oregon.

  • Go to SBS.
  • Under State Services, choose Oregon.
  • Choose Education Provider Application.
  • Once the Division of Financial Regulation approves the application, we will email the new provider information, including an initial user ID and password. 
  • Use the login and password to submit course credit registrations and course roster uploads through SBS. 

To submit course applications:

  • Go to SBS.
  • Under State Services, choose Oregon. 
  • Under Search for, choose Courses.
  • Submit a course objective with a detailed timed outline. The state allows up to eight hours of coursework a day. For more than eight hours, submit your outline by day. 

Note: Online and home study courses require the exam questions. However, the questions themselves do not count as instruction time. In other words, a six-hour class means six hours of instruction.

Report course completion through SBS

Continuing education providers must report course completion information directly to the Division of Finacial Regulation through the SBS tool Online Continuing Education (OCE). Go to the Insurance Educator Provider Login page to get started.

Through OCE, course providers are able to:

  • Submit course applications 
  • Submit course offerings (or schedules) 
  • Upload course rosters 
  • View detailed provider information 
  • Submit instructor applications 
  • Upload attachments to pending courses 

Provider course numbers changed, but provider numbers stayed the same.

Course rosters submitted through SBS cost $1 per credit hour, per student.

There are two ways to process rosters:

  • The File Transfer method (this is best for large volume rosters).
  • The Input Course Roster method, which works great for classes with smaller student participation or for adding one or more students to an existing roster. 

Both of the course roster processing methods happen in real time - no delay in posting. Go to the Insurance Educator Provider Login page. After logging in to the Welcome page, you will find a link to the Users Guide.

Oregon uses NAIC guidelines

Oregon follows the National Association of Insurance Commissioners' (NAIC) Recommended Guidelines for Online Courses.

The division uses these guidelines, plus standards outlined in Oregon Administrative Rule 836-071-0225, in approving online continuing education (CE) course submissions:

  • Require each agent to enroll for the course before having access to course material.
  • Prevent access to the course exam before review of the course materials.
  • Prevent downloading of any course exam.
  • Provide review questions at the end of each unit/chapter and prevent access to the final exam until each set of questions are answered at a 70 percent rate.
  • Provide final exam questions that do not duplicate unit/chapter questions.
  • Prevent alternately accessing course materials and course exams.
  • Have monitor affidavit containing specific monitor duties and responsibilities printed for monitor's use to direct the taking of the final exam. Monitor will complete the affidavit after the exam is completed.

All continuing education course providers are strongly encouraged to adhere to these guidelines.

Key links

Insurance Educator Provider Login

Course advertising

You cannot advertise continuing education hours before the Division of Financial Regulation approves the course.
​​