Debt management service provider registration
Companies that help people with their debt must register with the division.
Debt management services include debt settlement or consolidation, credit repair,
home loan modifications or short-sale negotiations, and budget counseling.
How to apply
Submit an application through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS).
NMLS website has instructions on how to submit an application for Oregon,
or any other state. You can find the
checklist for an Oregon debt management service provider registration.
NMLS has a resources
and support section that may be helpful, particularly for first-time users.
An application for a debt management service provider registration must also
include the following:
- Upload a copy of the agreement and disclosures
- Provide through NMLS an electronic surety bond in the amount of $25,000.
- Upload a completed criminal background and credit check authorization in
Word or PDF
- Upload a sample budget worksheet
- Upload proof of current business registration with the Oregon
Secretary of State
When you are ready to submit your application, NMLS will collect the registration fee (total of $350). For more detailed information, review the checklist in NMLS.
Fees charged to clients
Oregon law sets the maximum fees you can charge:
- $50 maximum initial counseling fee
- $50 maximum initial counseling or education fee
- Monthly fee based on 15 percent of the amount paid to the debt management
service provider (maximum of $65)
- A fee of 7.5% of the difference between the principal amount of the debt and the negotiated reduced amount on settled debt.
- Companies that offer credit repair services are limited to the $50 initial
fee and the $50 initial counseling fee. No other fees may be charged.
Once you determined you can help a client, provide them with a budget and a
written agreement. The agreement should include a copy of the budget, the services
provided, a list of all of the client’s debts, and all fees charged to the client.