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STATE OF OREGON 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

INSURANCE DIVISION 

 

In the Matter of Appalachian Underwriters, Inc. ) STIPULATION and 

 ) FINAL ORDER 

 ) Case No. INS 11-10-003 

 

STIPULATION 

 The Director of the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services 

(director) commenced this administrative proceeding, pursuant to Oregon Revised 

Statutes (ORS) 731.256, to take enforcement action against Appalachian 

Underwriters, Inc. (Appalachian Underwriters). 

 Appalachian Underwriters desires to conclude this proceeding without a hearing 

by entering into this stipulation pursuant to ORS 183.417(3). 

 Appalachian Underwriters waives all rights relative to an administrative 

hearing and judicial review thereof. 

 Appalachian Underwriters stipulates to the following facts, conclusions, action, 

and to the issuance of a final order incorporating this stipulation. 

Facts and Conclusions 

Licensing Information 

 Appalachian Underwriters has been licensed in Oregon as a nonresident 

business entity insurance producer since 3/19/08 and as a surplus lines producer 

since 5/19/08.  Appalachian Underwriters’ license number is 819109, NAIC entity 

number is 3893743, and federal employer identification number (FEIN) is 62-

1756179.  Appalachian Underwriters’ last recorded principal place of business 

address is 800 Oak Ridge Turnpike Suite A-1000, Oak Ridge, TN 37830-6949; and 

telephone number is 865-425-7410. 

Received Impermissible Compensation 

 Appalachian Underwriters is subject to enforcement action pursuant to 

ORS 744.077(2) because of the following circumstances.  ORS 744.074(1)(b) permits 

the director to take any authorized enforcement action against a person who has 
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applied for a license or is licensed in Oregon as an insurance producer if the person 

violated any insurance statute; or any rule, order, or subpoena, of the director or the 

insurance regulator of another state.  ORS 744.077(2) prohibits a person licensed in 

Oregon only as an insurance producer from receiving compensation other than 

commission, for soliciting, selling, or negotiating insurance relative to persons 

residing in Oregon except as permitted otherwise by statute or rule.  There is no 

law that permits an insurance producer to charge a person a fee for the services 

provided in this case.  Additionally, although ORS 654.097(1)(a) requires an insurer 

that provides workers’ compensation insurance to an employer covering employees 

in Oregon to furnish occupational safety and health loss control consultative 

services to the employer, ORS 654.097(4) prohibits an insurer, and thus also an 

insurance producer, from charging or receiving from the employer any fee for such 

services. 

 Prior to 3/19/08, Appalachian Underwriters was not licensed in Oregon in any 

capacity authorized by ORS Chapter 744 including as an insurance producer.  Since 

3/19/08, Appalachian Underwriters has been licensed in Oregon only as an 

insurance producer. 

 From 7/7/06 to 4/30/10, Appalachian Underwriters charged each of 117 

employers in Oregon a fee ranging from $100 to $1,000, for a total of $29,500.00, for 

a loss survey to be conducted by MRA Inspection Services, LLC relative to workers’ 

compensation insurance.  In each instance, Appalachian Underwriters sent the 

employer a written quote listing separately the premium for the insurance and the 

fee for the loss survey.  The employer was not given the option of purchasing the 

insurance without the loss survey.  The employer was not given additional 

information about the loss survey in the quote.  The employer was not contacted by 

and did not contract with MRA about the fee or the services in advance of the 

services being performed.  Of the amount charged, Appalachian Underwriters 

received $26,650.00 and “waived” or did not receive the remaining $2,850.00.  In 

November 2009, the director received a complaint that Appalachian Underwriters 

was charging the fee.  The director investigated the complaint.  The director 
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investigated the complaint.  As a result of the director’s investigation and at the 

request of the director, Appalachian Underwriters stopped charging the fee to 

Oregon employers and refunded the fee to the employers that paid the fee. 

Action 

 Pursuant to ORS 731.988(1), Appalachian Underwriters is assessed a civil 

penalty of $40,000.00.  The payment shall be made in the form of a check payable to 

the "Department of Consumer and Business Services" for the full amount due.  The 

payment shall be delivered or mailed to the Insurance Division at the Labor and 

Industries Building, 350 Winter Street NE Room 300, Salem, OR 97301-3880; or 

mailed to the Insurance Division at PO Box 14480, Salem, OR 97309-0405.  The 

payment shall be received by the Insurance Division by the date of the final order. 

 

 Dated December 23, 2011 /s/ Robert J. Arowood 
  [Signature of Representative] 

  Robert J. Arowood 
  [Printed Name of Representative] 

  President 
  [Printed Title of Representative] 

  Appalachian Underwriters, Inc. 

 

 

FINAL ORDER 

 The director incorporates herein the above stipulation, adopts it as the director’s 

final decision in this proceeding, and orders that the action stated therein be taken. 

 

 Dated January 18, 2012 /s/ Louis Savage 

 Louis Savage 

 Acting Administrator 

 Insurance Division 

 Department of Consumer and Business Services 

// 

// 

// 


