
Page 1 of 3 Final Order, Brudzinski, Case No. INS 04-01-026

STATE OF OREGON
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES

INSURANCE DIVISION

In the Matter of Shawn S. Brudzinski. ) FINAL ORDER
) Case No. INS 04-01-026

History of the Proceeding

The Director of the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services

(director) commenced this administrative proceeding, pursuant to Oregon Revised

Statutes (ORS) 731.256, to take enforcement action against Shawn S. Brudzinski

(Brudzinski).

On 8/2/04, the director issued to the party a notice of proposed action, pursuant

to ORS 183.415.  The notice informed the party that they were entitled to a hearing.

The director did not receive a request for a hearing, and did not hold a hearing

because the director determined that the record of the proceeding proved a prima

facie case and no further evidence was needed.

Therefore, the director now makes the following final decision in this proceeding.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Licensing Information

Brudzinski has been licensed in Oregon as a nonresident insurance agent since

9/6/02.

Agent Not Licensed in Resident State

Brudzinski is subject to enforcement action pursuant to ORS 744.063(1)(a) in

one instance because of the following circumstances.  ORS 744.063(1)(a) requires a

person licensed in Oregon as a nonresident insurance agent to be also licensed in

the person’s state of residence as a resident insurance producer.  At all relevant

times, Brudzinski was a resident of California.  On 4/29/03, the insurance regulator

for the State of California issued an order, number LBB 1103-AP(AR); revoking

Brudzinski’s California resident insurance agent license effective on 5/29/03.  The

insurance regulator took the action because on 7/16/02 Brudzinski was convicted,
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based on a plea of guilty, by the Superior Court of Riverside County, State of

California, criminal case number SWF001917, of the crime of manufacturing,

intentionally selling, and knowingly possessing for sale, one thousand and more

articles containing a counterfeit of a mark registered both with the Secretary of

State and on the principle Register of the United States Patent and Trademark

Office, as well as articles with a retail and fair market value exceeding $400

containing a counterfeit of a mark so registered, a felony, pursuant to an

unspecified law.  Therefore, Brudzinski has not qualified for an Oregon nonresident

insurance agent license since 5/29/03.

Failed to Report Enforcement Action by Other State Insurance Regulator

Brudzinski violated ORS 744.089(1) in one instance by engaging in the following

conduct.  ORS 744.089(1) requires a person licensed in Oregon as an insurance

agent to notify the Insurance Division of any enforcement action taken against the

person by another state insurance regulator, and provide a copy of the order, within

30 days of the final disposition of the action.  On 4/29/03, the insurance regulator for

the State of California issued an order, number LBB 1103-AP(AR); revoking

Brudzinski’s California resident insurance agent license effective 5/29/03, as

described above.  The action was finally disposed of on 5/29/03.  Thus, Brudzinski

was required to notify the Insurance Division of the action, and provide a copy of

the order, by 6/30/03.  Brudzinski has not notified the Insurance Division of the

action or provided a copy of the order.

Order

Pursuant to ORS 744.074(1), Brudzinski’s Oregon nonresident agent license is

revoked on the date of this order.

Notice of Right to Judicial Review

The party may have the right to appeal the order to the Oregon Court of Appeals

pursuant to ORS 183.480 and 183.482.  If a party wants to appeal the order, the

party must file a petition for judicial review with the Court of Appeals within 60

days from the date this order was served on the party.  If the order was personally

delivered to a party, then the date of service is the day the party received the order.
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If the order was mailed to a party, then the date of service is the day the order was

mailed to the party, not the day the party received the order.  If a party does not file

a petition for judicial review within the 60-day time period, then the party will loose

the right to appeal this order.  If a party appeals the order, the party should also

send a copy of the petition to the Insurance Division.

Dated September 20, 2004 /s/ Joel Ario
Joel Ario
Administrator
Insurance Division
Department of Consumer and Business Services

//
//
//


