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Oregon Department of Consumer and Business 

Services Division of Financial Regulation 

350 Winter St. NE, Rm. 410, Salem, Oregon 97301 

Mailing address: P.O. Box 14480, Salem, OR 97309-0405 

503-947-7300  Fax: 503-947-7862

dfr.ndp.licensing@dcbs.oregon.gov
dfr.oregon.gov

CERTIFIED  PROVIDER  APPLICATION 

Certified provider requirements: A provider may not engage in prearrangement sales or preconstruction sales unless the 
provider is certified by the director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services. By completing this 
application, the provider is requesting to be a certified provider. 

A certified provider is any funeral home or cemetery provider offering for sale prearrangement or preconstruction sales 
contracts in which the consumer’s purchase funds are placed with a master trustee or depository. In certain situations, a 
funeral home or cemetery administering, but not actively selling, prearrangement trust funds at time of need, may need to 
be a certified provider.  

The certified provider must file an annual trust fund report on trust fund activity (Form 440-4014), due in April each year. 
Additionally, the certified provider must annually pay $5 per contract to support the Funeral and Cemetery Consumer 
Protection Trust Fund (Form 440-4013), due in January each year.  

Failure to become a certified provider: The Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board will not register salespeople to 
engage in prearrangement sales or preconstruction sales unless the funeral or cemetery location has been issued a 
certificate to be a certified provider.  

Additionally, the director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services may issue a cease-and-desist order to an 
uncertified provider conducting sales activities and send notice to the State Mortuary and Cemetery Board and to the 
Attorney General. 

Exceptions: Endowment care cemetery providers making prearrangement sales or preconstruction sales should refer to 
ORS 97.927 and ORS 97.929.  

Trust deposits: All trust deposits must be placed in a depository or delivered to a master trustee within five days of 
receipt. A provider must have an agreement with a master trustee or depository when the certified provider application is 
submitted. 

Examination of records: Each certified provider that is or should be certified is subject to an examination by the director. 
The provider will pay the director all fees and costs of the examination. 

Governing statutes and rules: Oregon Revised Statute 97.923 through 97.949 and Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 
441 Division 930 

More information: www.dfr.oregon.gov. See program link to cemetery and funeral-related programs. 

http://www.dfr.oregon.gov/
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61260/1008 CERTIFIED  PROVIDER  APPLICATION 

Prearrangement Plans 

ORS Chapter 97; OAR 441-930 
Fee: $390 

1. Business name: Owner/manager name: 

Corporate mailing address: 

City, State, ZIP: 

Business phone:       -

- 

Business fax: 

2. Assumed business name (ABN), if applicable:

Address where business is conducted (P.O. Box not acceptable):

City, State, ZIP

- Business fax: Business phone:        

Business email:   Contact name and title: 

Mailing address (if different than where business is conducted): 

City, state, ZIP:   

3. a) Master trustees - attach additional information, if necessary.

Name: Phone:  - - 

b) Depository (master trustee not appointed) - attach additional information, if necessary.

Name:  Phone:  - - 

Contact name: 
Continued on next page 

Secure fax for credit card payments: 

503-947-2333
If paying by credit card, applicant must sign 

credit-card information box.

Make check or money order payable to Oregon 

Division of Financial Regulation.

Mail application with payment to: 
DCBS - Fiscal Services 
P.O. Box 14610 
Salem, OR 97309-0445 Visa  MasterCard  Discover Phone: 

Credit card number Expiration date Fiscal use only: 92700/93080/1001 

Name of cardholder as shown on credit card 

$ 

Cardholder signature Amount

-
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4. Provide the following with your application:
a. Copy of the current Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board license. The license must be in the same name as 
the applicant.
b. Proof of business registration with the Oregon Secretary of State.
c. A completed and signed criminal background and credit check authorization.
(This information will be used for identification purposes only in a criminal background check.)

d. For providers who have not appointed a master trustee, financial statements, including balance sheet, 
statement of income or loss, statement of changes in shareholder equity, and statement of changes in financial 
position. An independent certified public accountant must prepare all financial statements in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting procedures. If the audited financial statement is more than six months old, 
provide an internally prepared statement for the most recent month-end.
e. A statement of contracts held or obtained before submitting this application. The statement must include the 
following information:

1. Beneficiary and purchaser name
2. Contract number
3. Contact date
4. Contract amount
5. Guaranteed or nonguaranteed
6. Irrevocable or revocable
7. Beginning and year-end balance
8. Date of any withdrawal within the reporting period and the reason

Social Security numbers are not required; if you include them, only show the last four numbers. 

5. Describe the type of services and merchandise offered:

6. Is this business an endowment care cemetery (ORS 97.810-97.994) or an irreducible fund cemetery (ORS 65.860)?
 Yes     No 

If “Yes,” complete the following: 
Do you sell graves, crypts, or niches in existence at the time of the sale or agreement to sell?   Yes     No 
Do you sell crypts or niches not in existence at the time of the sale or agreement to sell?   Yes     No 
Do you sell burial vaults or markers for installation?   Yes     No 

I certify that the information contained in this application is current and correct. 

Name (type or print):   

Title of applicant (type or print): 

Signature: Date: 
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CRIMINAL  BACKGROUND  AND  CREDIT  CHECK  AUTHORIZATION 

Each member, partner, officer, director, or principal; owner of 10 percent or more of the corporation; owner if applicant is 

an entity other than a corporation; and proposed manager of the location must complete and sign the following:  

First name: Middle name: Last name:

Name of company: 

Home phone:  - - Office phone:  - - 

Home address: Office street address: 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 
Home mailing address, if different: Office mailing address, if different: 

City: State: ZIP: City: State: ZIP: 
Date of birth (mm/dd/yy): Position or title: 

Social Security number: Email: 

Driver license number and state: Percentage of ownership: % 

ATTACH A RESUME OF THE PAST FIVE YEARS OF WORK EXPERIENCE 

Have you been convicted of a felony? 
 No  Yes, explain: 

Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor 
for fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit? 

 No  Yes, explain: 
Have you been the subject of an administrative 
action in any state that resulted in civil penalties 
or action taken against a license you held? 

 No  Yes, explain: 
Have you had any entry of any money 
judgments that are not paid in full?   

 No  Yes, explain: 
Have you filed for voluntary or involuntary 
bankruptcy protection? 

 No  Yes, explain: 

I certify that the information I have provided is current and accurate as of the day it was signed and I understand that my 
signature authorizes an investigative consumer report as defined in the Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 USC 1681 et seq.). 

Signature Date 

/ /


	1 Business name: 
	Ownermanager name: 
	Corporate mailing address: 
	City state ZIP: 
	2 Assumed business name ABN if applicable: 
	Address where business is conducted PO Box not acceptable: 
	City State ZIP: 
	Business email: 
	Contact name and title: 
	Mailing address if different than where business is conducted: 
	City state ZIP_2: 
	Name: 
	Name_2: 
	Contact name: 
	Visa: Off
	MasterCard: Off
	Discover: Off
	b Proof of business registration with the Oregon Secretary of State: Off
	c A completed and signed Criminal Background and Credit Check Authorization: Off
	d For providers who have not appointed a master trustee financial statements including balance sheet: Off
	e A statement of contracts held or obtained before submitting this application The statement must include the: Off
	Describe the type of services and merchandise offered 1: 
	Describe the type of services and merchandise offered 2: 
	Name type or print: 
	Title of applicant type or print: 
	Date: 
	First name: 
	Middle name: 
	Last name: 
	Name of company: 
	Home address: 
	Office street address: 
	City: .
	State: 
	ZIP: 
	City_2: 
	State_2: 
	ZIP_2: 
	Home mailing address if different: 
	Office mailing address if different: 
	City_3: 
	State_3: 
	ZIP_3: 
	City_4: 
	State_4: 
	ZIP_4: 
	Position or title: 
	Email: 
	Driver license number and state: 
	Percentage of ownership: 
	Have you been convicted of a felony No Yes explain: 
	Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor for fraud misrepresentation or deceit No Yes explain: 
	Have you been the subject of an administrative action in any state that resulted in civil penalties or action taken against a license you held No Yes explain: 
	Have you had any entry of any money judgments that are not paid in full No Yes explain: 
	Have you filed for voluntary or involuntary bankruptcy protection No Yes explain: 
	Date_2: 
	Phone part 2: 
	Phone 2 part 2: 
	Phone part 3: 
	fax: 
	fax 2: 
	Phone 2: 
	Phone 3: 
	Phone 3 part 2: 
	Phone 4 part 2: 
	Phone 4 part 3: 
	Credit card number: 
	Phone: 
	Phone 4: 
	Phone 5: 
	Expiration date: 
	Cardholder name: 
	Amount: 
	a Copy of the current Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board license The license must be in the same name as: Off
	Yes: Off
	Yes_2: Off
	Yes_3: Off
	Yes_4: Off
	No_3: Off
	Home phone part 2: 
	Home phone part 3: 
	Office phone: 
	Office phone part 2: 
	Office phone part 3: 
	month: 
	Day: 
	year: 
	Social security part 3: 
	Phone 2 part 3: 
	Home phone: 
	No: Off
	No_2: Off
	No_4: Off
	No_5: Off
	Yes 5: Off
	No_6: Off
	Yes_6: Off
	No_7: Off
	Yes_7: Off
	No_8: Off
	Yes_8: Off
	No_9: Off
	Yes_9: Off
	Phone part 4: 


